ENG 380.91 German Literature in Translation (World Literature)

These online sources are additional resources for your literature-related research.

• The MLA International Bibliography contains over 2.5 million records that pertain specifically to language and literature. Material from other disciplines, like biology or political science, is not included.
• The Bibliography provides the most comprehensive listing of scholarly material in language, literature, culture, and folklore, including publications not available on the Web.
• A professional indexing staff and scholars in relevant fields review books, essay collections, journals, bibliographies, and electronic publications to create the most accurate listing possible.
• The materials covered come from reputable publishers in over one hundred countries.
• Indexers use controlled vocabulary as subject headings, enabling more precise searches than user-chosen keywords would allow.
• Each citation contains the information users need to create a bibliography as part of a research project.

Question: Why would you use Google Scholar?

Answer: Google Scholar identifies scholarly research materials from a broad range of subject areas.

Google Scholar offers a "cited by" feature - it will display a list of documents which cited the document you originally retrieved. This can be useful in determing how influential a source has been.  The list only includes documents available in Google Scholar, though.

Go into the preferences of Google Scholar and select Pepperdine University from Library Links.

The aim of this course is to familiarize you with the important works, themes, historical events and literary terminology of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, showing how literary forms express German culture unique to these periods. We shall examine literature of the period through aesthetic, sociological, philosophical, ethical, political and/or historical lenses. Starting with the of writings of Schnitzler and Freud and continuing with Zweig and Musil, we will trace the development of German letters from the early Austro-Hungarian to the period before and during World War I through the writings of Hesse and Remarque.

By the end of the course students should have a sound knowledge of the following concepts: Realism, Naturalism, drama, novel, Zeitgeist, black Pedagogy and other concepts essential to the literature of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Furthermore, students should have a firm understanding of the social, philosophical, economic and political events and trends in Germany as they are manifested in the works read.