Skip to Main Content
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Access to nearly 3 million searchable citations, the most comprehensive collection of doctoral dissertations and master's theses in the world. Full text for most dissertations since 1997 with 1.2 million full text dissertations available for download in PDF format. Approximately 70,000 new dissertations and theses are added each year. Coverage from 1743 to the present.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Includes e-books that were formerly in Pepperdine's ebrary and EBL collections.This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
ProQuest Ebook Central tutorials This link opens in a new window
Tutorials on how to borrow, download, annotate, and create an online bookshelf for ebooks using Ebook Central.
ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
The American Council of Learned Societies Humanities Ebook Collection consists of over 5,700 scholarly books curated by scholars for scholars. Approximately 300 books are added annually to the collection.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) formerly netLibrary This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks from EBSCOhost.
Overdrive This link opens in a new window
Borrow and read free ebooks from the Libraries using your phone, tablet, or computer. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) This link opens in a new window
The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB), a service provided by the OAPEN Foundation, is a discovery service that points to open access books. The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books that meet academic standards.
OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating dissertations and theses from the early 20th century to now. Created with the generous support of the H.W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston, it incorporates EBSCO’s previously released American Doctoral Dissertations, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world.
General Literature Web Resources
The publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in culture. Includes poems, articles and biographical information on poets.
Download free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
Voice of the Shuttle
web site for humanities research
Literary Resources on the Net
pages maintained by Jack Lynch of Rutgers
Free full-text access to thousands of electronic books on a wide variety of topics. Includes books in English as well as many different foreign languages.
Cambridge History of English and American Literature
"Considered the most important work of literary history and criticism ever published, the Cambridge History contains over 303 chapters and 11,000 pages, with essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing." Arranged chronologically, and includes an index to the chapters in each volume, as well as an index to the bibliographies in each chapter.
Studying English by Robert Eaglestone; With Jonathan Beecher Field
Publication Date: 2015-11-06
Presents the ideas and debates that shape literary studies in America today. This overview of the discipline explains not only what students need to know, but how and why English came to be the way it is. The book covers arguments about criticism and theory, value, the canon, Shakespeare, authorial intention, figural language, narrative, writing, identity, politics and the skills that are learned from studying English for the world of work.