It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Great Books: Home
This guide will suggest some starting points for research.
"[Lombardo] has brought his laconic wit and love of the ribald . . . to his version of the Odyssey . His carefully honed syntax gives the narrative energy and a whirlwind pace. The lines, rhythmic and clipped, have the tautness and force of Odysseus' bow." --Chris Hedges, The New York Times Book Review
A virtual library of more than 520 volumes of Greek and Latin texts with English translations. Works include Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; works from medical writers and mathematicians; and works from Church Fathers.
Getting Started with Research
This online resource is a great place to begin your research. Use the Choose databases link to select relevant databases to search simultaneously with Academic Search Complete.
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Includes an extensive archive of journals pluse over 40,0000 e-books in 30 subject disciplines in the Arts and Sciences, including classical studies and philosophy. Only about 20% of the articles have abstracts.
Provides online access to the full text of over 400 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Allows users to perform keyword and Boolean searching; search full text across all journals in the database, selected journal titles, or in just a single title; search the tables of contents of articles and book reviews by author and title. Use the Advanced Search to better focus your search.