Guides: Education (Seaver): Other Resources

Education in the New York Times

Open Education Resources

Share My Lesson Teaching Resources
Share My Lesson hosts an extremely comprehensive collection lesson plans aligned to a variety of standards. Not only are lessons broken down by process and proficiency, they’re all free and there’s a huge number of them from favorite sources like Sesame Street. (Note: Using Share My Lesson does require signing up for a free membership.)
Free Lessons from LearnZillion
Their open ed resource database features some valuable Common Core-aligned math lessons and English language arts lessons.
Teaching Channel Common Core Video Series
The Teaching Channel’s videos provide an amazing in-classroom look at the Common Core in practice. For grades K-5, Teaching Channel has produced more than 70 videos, covering both math and English lessons. You’ll also find some great overview videos that will help answer general questions about implementing the new standards.
Khan Academy Common Core Map:
Khan Academy’s Common Core Map provids an overview of processes and proficiencies with links to their aligned, web-based lessons. Khan’s Common Core resource page is another great source: https://www.khanacademy.org/commoncore
Common Core in Action (Edutopia)
This collection of blog posts highlights lesson plans, ideas, and other useful resources to help you bring Common Core-aligned lessons into your classroom. You can also follow #CCSS or #CCSSChat on Twitter for the latest updates.
Free Lessons from K-5 Math Teaching Resources
Here, you’ll find a comprehensive pool of K-5 math resources organized by grade level, and all are available as PDF download.
Science NetLinks
Find Science Lessons and Tools for K-12. Science NetLinks is a premier K-12 science education resource produced by the American Association for the Advancement of Science. At Science NetLinks, you'll find teaching tools, interactives, podcasts, and hands-on activities, and all of it is free!
National Humanities Center Education Programs
American in Class: Lesson plans include key questions, essential understandings, and primary sources with context, background, and discussion excerpts for classroom teaching.
EDSITEment! The Best of the Humanities on the Web
A partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities and the National Trust for the Humanities, EDSITEment offers a treasure trove for teachers, students, and parents searching for high-quality material on the Internet in the subject areas of literature and language arts, foreign languages, art and culture, and history and social studies.

Online Resources

AERA (American Educational Research Association) founded in 1916, is concerned with improving the educational process by encouraging scholarly inquiry related to education and evaluation and by promoting the dissemination and practical application of research results.
ArtsEdSearch is an online clearinghouse that collects and summarizes high quality arts education research studies and analyzes their implications for educational policy and practice. ArtsEdSearch focuses on research examining how education in the arts affects students’ cognitive, personal, social and civic development, and how the integration of the arts into the school curriculum affects student learning and educators’ instructional practice and engagement in the teaching profession.
Best Evidence Encyclopedia from Johns Hopkins University presents reliable, unbiased reviews of research-proven educational programs
Childcare & Early Education Research Connections connects to thousands of resources on child care and early education for research, for policy, and for education.
EdTech Genome Project is a a sector-wide initiative to discover why edtech tools work differently in various contexts by the EdTech Evidence Exchange
EDUCAUSE EDUCAUSE is a nonprofit association whose mission is to advance higher education by promoting the intelligent use of information technology
Illuminations showcases classroom ready Standards-based mathematics lessons for grades Pre-K-12, interactive tools for learning and teaching mathematics, and reviewed Web sites. Illuminations provides resources for teachers, supervisors, and mathematics educators at all levels.
ISTE (International Society for Technology in Education) ISTE is the premier membership association for educators and education leaders engaged in improving teaching and learnign by advancing the effective use of technology in PK-12 amd higher education.
Library of Congress for Teachers provides information on using primary sources in the classroom and includes easy-to-use primary source sets on the most frequently taught topics plus professional development materials and more.
ReadWriteThink.org developed by the International Reading Association and the National Council of Teachers of English with support from the Verizon Foundation, this site includes standards-based lesson plans, online interactive materials for students, a gallery of peer-reviewed Web resources, and a literacy calendar with teaching ideas.
Smithsonian Education This site is a gateway for Smithsonian education resources for teachers, families, and students. The site features lesson plans, field trip guides, print and online resources, opportunities for professional development, and other materials for teachers. The family section highlights "the fun things to do" at Smithsonian museums. The student section includes illustrated essays, online "IdeaLabs," and suggested books.
Stanford History Education Group emphasizes lessons using primary sources; web site includes lesson plans
Teacher's Domain is a multimedia digital library for K-12 science and social studies teachers and students. The website includes classroom-ready resources, media-rich lesson plans and professional development resources organized by grade level, discipline and subject.
What Works Clearinghouse reviews the research on the different programs, products, practices, and policies in education.

International Children's Digital Library
A digital library of outstanding children's books from around the world supporting communities of children and adults in exploring and using this literature through innovative technology designed in close partnership with children for children. The mission of the ICDL Foundation is to support the world's children in becoming effective members of the global community - who exhibit tolerance and respect for diverse cultures, languages and ideas
more...less...
The ICDL was initially created by an interdisciplinary research team at the University of Maryland in cooperation with the Internet Archive. Members of the team include computer scientists, librarians, educational technologists, classroom teachers, graphic designers, and graduate students from the University of Maryland's (UMD) College of Information Studies (CLIS) and the UMD Human-Computer Interaction Lab (HCIL), a leader in children's interface design.

Other important contributors to the research are the members of the College Park Kidsteam, a group of six children, ages 7-11, who work regularly with the adults in the Lab.
TED-Ed
"lessons worth sharing - Within the growing TED-Ed video library, you will find carefully curated educational videos...[on a] platform also allows users to take any useful educational video, not just TED's, and easily create a customized lesson around the video." Most lessons also include "Think" questions, "Dig Deeper" additional resources, and "Discuss" question for guided discussion.
PowerUp What Works
Created by the Center for Technology Implementation (CTI), this website for students with disabilities links evidence-based practices, Universal Design for Learning (UDL), and technology to guide teachers, school leaders, professional development (PD) facilitators, and teacher educators in their professional learning.
Annenberg Learner
Teacher resources and professional development across the curriculum.
more...less...
Annenberg Learner uses media and telecommunications to advance excellent teaching in American schools. This mandate is carried out chiefly by the funding and broad distribution of educational video programs with coordinated Web and print materials for the professional development of K-12 teachers.