It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Communication Research: Primary Sources
This guide will introduce communication resources available to Pepperdine University students.
A primary source is "first-hand" information, sources as close as
possible to the origin of the information or idea under study. Primary
sources are contrasted with secondary sources, works that provide
analysis, commentary, or criticism on the primary source. In literary
studies, primary sources are often creative works, including poems,
stories, novels, and so on. In historical studies, primary sources
include written works, recordings, or other source of information from
people who were participants or direct witnesses to the events in
question. Examples of commonly used primary sources include government
documents, memoirs, personal correspondence, oral histories, and
contemporary newspaper accounts.
Access to part of the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library of Duke University, the Hartman Center is one of the nation's preeminent programs for the study of sales, advertising, and marketing.
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 150 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
Pepperdine University Special Collections and University Archives has contributed a number of collections to the OAC.