Guides: ENG 431 Early American Literature: Home

Literature Specific Databases

MLA International Bibliography
Coverage is international and includes literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.

In addition, the MLA Directory of Periodicals and their proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors within the Bibliography are included.
Literature Resource Center

Provides up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and around the world.

British Periodicals
British Periodicals offers facsimile page images and searchable full text for approximately 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries (1681-1920). Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences and the fine arts: music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture. The collection includes over 5 million pages.

Multidisciplinary Databases

JSTOR + ARTstor
Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.

Academic Search Complete

Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.
Project MUSE

Full-text current and archival articles from scholarly journals covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
Indexing includes full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™.

Newspapers

Newspapers can provide you with valuable information. They include books reviews, author interviews, information on book signs, etc. Historical Newspapers can also provide you with information on how the book was received when it was published, if it was published with in the papers range.

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5

Digital access to Series 1-5 of the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

Access to selected newspaper pages from 1836 to 1922. Use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information on newspapers published between 1690-present.

Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

The Times Digital Archive (1785 - 1985)
The entire newspaper is online, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

History Commons: North American Collections (formerly Accessible Archives)
Primary source material from 18th and 19th century including historical periodicals and books; eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, business advertisements, and genealogical records.

Historical Context

America: History and Life

Access to scholarly journals, dissertations and book and media reviews about U.S. and Canadian history and culture. Coverage for some titles back to the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of American Literature by Anne Marie Hacht; Dwayne D. Hayes
ISBN: 9781414431390

Publication Date: 2009-07-01

Covers American authors from many periods and genres, building a broad understanding of the various contexts - from the biographical to the literary to the historical - in which literature can be viewed.