Guides: ENG 340 Multicultural Literature: Home

Literature Specific Databases

Literature Resource Center

Provides up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and around the world.
MLA International Bibliography
Coverage is international and includes literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.

In addition, the MLA Directory of Periodicals and their proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors within the Bibliography are included.

JSTOR

Archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering the Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.
Academic Search Complete

Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.
Project MUSE

Full-text current and archival articles from scholarly journals covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Access to encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Maya Angelou
Information about Dr. Angelou and her legacy
Julia Alvarez
Information about the author and her books
Julie Otsuka
Information about the author and her books
Tommy Orange
Information about the author and his Booker prize nomination for "Wandering Stars"
Poetry Foundation
The publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in culture. Includes poems, articles and biographical information on poets.
Digital Schomburg
Relying on the expertise of distinguished curators and scholars, Digital Schomburg provides access to trusted information, interpretation, and scholarship on the global black experience 24/7.
Native American Authors
This website provides information on Native North American authors with bibliographies of their published works, biographical information, and links to online resources including interviews, online texts and tribal websites. Currently the website primarily contains information on contemporary Native American authors, although some historical authors are represented.
Asian American Writers Workshop
Established in 1991, AAWW is a national not-for-profit arts organization devoted to the creating, publishing, developing and disseminating of creative writing by Asian Americans