Guides: Nursing: Finding Books

Books

Spiritual Care by Elizabeth J. Taylor
ISBN: 9780130281647
Publication Date: 2019-07-22
This book provides practical guidance on many aspects of spiritual caregiving. It addresses many relevant topics including spiritual assessment, planning care, documentation, ethical concerns of sharing personal spiritual beliefs, and numerous approaches to nurturing the spirit.
Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals, Fourth Edition by Deborah Dang; Sandra Dearholt; Kim Bissett; Madeleine Whalen; Judith Ascenzi
ISBN: 9781948057875
Publication Date: 2021-07-15
Johns Hopkins Nursing is steadfastly dedicated to making it easy for frontline nurses, health professionals, and students to use best evidence in their everyday practice. Our overarching aim is to provide practical and pragmatic explanations, approaches, and tools to guide and support teams engaging in EBP projects: We explicitly reflected the interprofessional nature of the EBP process and its use by all disciplines who serve, interact with, and care for those who seek services.
Health Policy and Advanced Practice Nursing by Kelly A. Goudreau; Mary C. Smolenski
ISBN: 9780826154637
Publication Date: 2022-01-01
The only policy text written specifically for APRN students, this preeminent resource delivers a sweeping examination of policy impact on the full implementation of the APRN role across all environments, including its effectiveness on specific patient populations. The expanded third edition--containing six new chapters--includes expanded information on policy analysis, nursing roles, and the impact of technology. It provides practical knowledge on developing policy to advocate for vulnerable populations--bolstered by case examples--and discusses how interprofessional education has changed and will continue to alter health policy in the United States and internationally.
Nursing Informatics for the Advanced Practice Nurse, Third Edition by Susan McBride; Mari Tietze
ISBN: 9780826185259
Publication Date: 2022-02-28
This third edition of the book comes out at unprecedented times for global health as the COVID-19 pandemic raged in the United States and around the world with implications for sectors spanning education, practice, and policy. Our focus as we updated chapters for this text was to emphasize the criticality of nursing leadership within interprofessional teams to use technology, data, and information to address the serious gaps that have been identified and exacerbated by the pandemic.
Nursing Ethics: Across the Curriculum and into Practice by Janie B. Butts; Karen L. Rich
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781284259247
Publication Date: 2022-09-15
Nursing Ethics is a comprehensive, well-written text that provides pre-licensure nursing students with an understanding of ethical issues in the current healthcare climate and underscores the many ways in which ethics affects all levels of nursing care.
Visionary Leadership in Healthcare by Holly Wei; Sara Horton-Deutsch
ISBN: 9781646480241
Publication Date: 2021-11-01
Nurse-Led Visionary Leadership in Healthcare informs, expands, and empowers nurse leaders to envision and transform the current healthcare system using an evolved worldview to achieve a global, life-sustaining perspective. Lead authors and editors, Holly Wei and Sara Horton-Deutsch model their call to move away from hierarchical leadership to more engaged, open, equitable, inclusive, authentic, and caring leadership styles.

E-Book Databases

SpringerLink
Access to journals and e-books published by Springer Nature in life and behavioral sciences.
JSTOR
Archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering the Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.
ProQuest E-Book Central
Includes e-books formerly in Pepperdine's ebrary and EBL collections.This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
American Psychological Association e-Books 2010-2015
Includes access to the APA Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology, APA Handbook of Personality and Social Psychology, APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology, and APA Addiction Syndrome Handbook.

Tips for Finding Books in the Library

When searching for books, there are a couple good strategies to start with:

1. If you already have a relevant book or article in hand, use its bibliography to help find other sources;

2. Use the "More like this" link to find other books within your subject area.

3. Think of synonyms or variations on spelling and try and OR search:

theater OR theatre
teenager OR adolescents

For some literary research it's important to track a particular author whose name may have varied over the course of his/her lifetime or publication history. In these cases, pay attention to cross-references in the catalog when you do an Author or Subject search for a name. Keep all name variants in mind when you search other catalogs and databases to ensure that you are finding all relevant resources.