Guides: Nursing: Finding Articles

Nursing and Health Science Databases

PubMed
Access to biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books from the National Library of Medicine.
Medline
Medicine, nursing, dentistry and the pre-clinical sciences research, includes bibliographic citations and author abstracts US and international journals.
Alt Health Watch
Focus on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness from peer-reviewed reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly full-text journals, dating back to 1975, focusing on medical disciplines.
Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more. In addition, this database includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Access to consumer health magazines, pamphlets and reference books, including those by People's Medical Society, Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
ScienceDirect
Access to peer-reviewed scientific, technical and medical journals.
Science (AAAS)
Peer-reviewed articles, original research reports, news sections, editorials, and special issues devoted to science-related topics.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Bibliographic and full text coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Content from CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with other peer-reviewed journals in communication, mass media, and related fields of study.

JSTOR Medicine and Allied Health

Mental Health Databases

PsycINFO
The American Psychological Association’s (APA) resource of peer-reviewed articles in psychology, behavioral science and mental health.
PsycARTICLES
From the American Psychological Association (APA), full text, peer-reviewed scholarly articles in psychology from 1894 to the present.
PsycTests
Descriptive summaries, articles and citations on the development and assessment of psychological tests, scales, instruments and measures used in psychology research and teaching.
PsychiatryOnline
Portal featuring DSM-V-TR, plus a collection of psychiatric references and journals from American Psychiatric Publishing, self-assessment tools, and clinical & research news.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Scopus
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed scientific journals, books and conference proceedings covering fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses, from 1743 to the present. Full text for most dissertations since 1997.

Nursing Journals

Pepperdine Libraries has access to many e-journals in support of health sciences and discipline-specific databases.

Below are a few to get you started: