Guides: INTS 465 Conflict and Peacebuilding (Rizkallah): Databases

Recommended Databases & Journals

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text journals in Business, Communication, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Library This link opens in a new window
Access to peer reviewed journals covering Behavioral Science; Education; Business, Management & Economics; Media, Cultural & Communication Studies; Politics, International Relations; Sociology; Sport, Leisure & Tourism.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Materials related to international affairs, starting from 1991, including working papers from universities and NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering the Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Some publications covered in this database include Air Force Controller, Military Review, Parameters, Defense, Business Week, Combat Edge, Economist, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Foreign Affairs, Military Technology, Naval Forces, and many more. Many full-text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full-text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.

The Journal of Conflict Resolution
The Journal of Conflict Resolution is an interdisciplinary journal of social scientific research and theory on human conflict. The journal focuses largely on international conflict, but also explores a variety of national, intergroup and interpersonal conflicts.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Access to online research on legal history. Visit HeinOnline LibGuides for tips on searching this database.

Conflict & Peacekeeping

Arms Control Association
Working to eliminate the threats posed by the world’s most dangerous weapons.
UN Peace Guide
The UN Library at Geneva presents its resource guide dedicated to peace. As Geneva has played and still plays an important role in the struggle for peace, the Library gathered its extensive resources on the theme in a unique tool to make them easily available to all. Every day, key decisions that have an impact on people's lives are made in Geneva. The United Nations family in Geneva works for peace, rights and well-being.
International Peacekeeping (journal)
International Peacekeeping examines the theory and practice of peacekeeping and peace operations as instruments of policy at an international level. From a broader perspective the journal also reflects debates about peacebuilding and monitoring of agreements, preventive deployments, sanctions, international policing, protection of aid in internal disputes, and the relationship between peacekeepers, state authorities, rival factions, civilians and non-governmental organizations.
UN Peace and Security
The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945. Currently made up of 193 Member States, the UN and its work are guided by the purposes and principles contained in its founding Charter.
UN Peacekeeping
Data on UN peacekeeping operations.
Global Peace Index
A composite index measuring the peacefulness of countries made up of 23 quantitative and qualitative indicators each weighted on a scale of 1-5. The lower the score the more peaceful the country.
U.S. Institute of Peace
The United States Institute of Peace is a national, nonpartisan, independent institute, founded by Congress and dedicated to the proposition that a world without violent conflict is possible, practical and essential for U.S. and global security.
Crisis Watch Database
CrisisWatch is our global conflict tracker, an early warning tool designed to help decision-makers prevent deadly violence by keeping them up-to-date with developments in over 70 conflicts and crises, identifying trends and alerting them to risks of escalation and opportunities to advance peace. Entries dating back to 2003 provide easily searchable conflict histories.

Policies

Policy Commons
Policy Commons is a one-stop community platform for objective, fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs.

Policy Research Working Papers (Open Knowledge Repository) This link opens in a new window
Policy research working papers and pre-prints (not yet peer-reviewed).

UN Policy Briefs
In recent years, major global shocks and setbacks to progress on the Sustainable Development Goals have increasingly underscored our shared vulnerabilities. International cooperation is needed more than ever, yet our collective problem-solving mechanisms do not match the pace or scale of the challenges we face. Today’s complex, interconnected, and rapidly changing world requires a more effective multilateral system – with the United Nations at its core.

Specific Databases

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, booklets, and reports focused on women and gender issues. Some archival material as far back as 1974.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Articles on the environment and its connection to a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
United Nations Treaty Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text as well as status of treaties filed with the U.N. Secretary-General.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository This link opens in a new window
Open access repository for international development research articles, reports and books.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945, compiled by top scholars and experts.

Databases for Statistics/Business

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources, includes access to the Global Consumer Survey .
Passport (formerly Global Market Information Database) This link opens in a new window
Market research reports on countries, consumers and industries from Euromonitor International. Historic data from 1997 plus up-to-date forecast models including industry reports and market share data. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
International Monetary Fund Data This link opens in a new window
Economic statistics for 269 countries from the International Monetary Fund.
World DataBank This link opens in a new window
Analysis and visualization tool for data regarding economic policy and debt, education, environment, financial sector, health, infrastructure, labor, poverty, and trade.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics, including SWOT analyses and articles from Harvard Business Review.

Our World in Data
Research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems
3784 charts across 297 topics
All free: open access and open source
National Statistical Offices
The United Nations Statistics Division, in its mission to promote the development of national statistical systems, has developed a central repository of country profiles of statistical systems. The country profiles include, among others, a brief history of the country's statistical system, legal basis, the statistical programme and much more.
UN Data
UNdata is a web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies.
Eurostat
70 years of high-quality statistics and data on Europe