Guides: COM 570 Media Law: Finding Communication & Media Law Articles & Resources

Recommended Databases & Professional Legal Sources

Academic Search Complete

Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Content from CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with other peer-reviewed journals in communication, mass media, and related fields of study.

Creative Commons
CC empowers individuals and communities around the world by equipping them with technical, legal, and policy solutions to enable sharing of knowledge and culture in the public interest.
Federal Communications Commission (FCC) .
Agency established by the Communication Act of 1934 that regulates the communications industry. The "Office of General Counsel" page includes court filings, cases, and opinions
FindLaw: Communications Law
Collection of Communications Law articles, concerned with the regulation of radio and TV broadcasting to ensure satisfactory service and to prevent chaos. The law covers a variety of issues - media law, First Amendment, cable and broadcasting law, computer and internet law, and telecommunications.

Encyclopedia of American Law (Gale, 3rd edition)

Covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important legal documents.
HeinOnline
Access to online research on legal history. Visit HeinOnline LibGuides for tips on searching this database.

Jurista - Entertainment Law
Portal to cases, legislation, regulations, news and reference articles on entertainment law.
Media Law Resource Center
MLRC is a non-profit providing media organizations and leading media attorneys with tools to advance First Amendment and media rights, and fostering a supportive community in which counsel can discuss emerging legal issues and prepare for the future of communication.

Nexis Uni

Features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. For help on how to use Nexis Uni, visit the research guide.This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Sage Journals Online

Access to the full text journals in Business, Communication, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.

Student Press Law Center
The Student Press Law Center promotes, supports and defends the First Amendment and free press rights of student journalists and their advisers. Founded in 1974, the nonprofit, nonpartisan SPLC is based in Washington, D.C.
THR, Esq.
Hollywood legal news from The Hollywood Reporter.
U.S. Copyright Office
Provides informational publication on copyright, application forms, latest updates on copyright laws and licensing, and copyright registration.