Guides: SART 305 History of Screen Arts: Databases & E-Resources

Recommended Databases & Encyclopedias

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

Coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
AFI Catalog of Feature Films

American feature and short films from 1893-1970, compiled by the American Film Institute. Includes information on cast, crew, plot summaries, subjects, genres and historical notes.
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film

Introduction to film and film studies, covering production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Content from CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with other peer-reviewed journals in communication, mass media, and related fields of study.
National Screening Room (Library of Congress)
Library of Congress' vast moving image collection, designed to make otherwise unavailable movies, both copyrighted and in the public domain, freely accessible.
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory

A comprehensive overview of contemporary communication theory.

Deadline
Associated with The Hollywood Reporter, Deadline is considered the authoritative source for breaking news in the entertainment industry and readers check the site multiple times each day.
The Wrap
TheWrap is the only independently owned Hollywood trade, serving as a reliable and trusted source of breaking news, investigative reporting, expert analysis, exhaustive awards season coverage and in-depth features for over a decade.
The Paley Center
The Paley Center for Media is the leading, nonprofit 501(c)(3) cultural institution whose mission is to preserve our media history and explore media’s powerful shaping influence on culture and society.
At the heart of the Paley Center sits the Paley Archive, which represents the largest public collection of its kind and is often cited as a national treasure, with over 160,000 television & radio programs and advertisements spanning more than 100 years.