Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

ENG 101 English Composition (Danielle Wagner): Home

Library resources for your ENG 101 course

Researching Controversial Issues

When you see something of interest, note the terminology that is used in the discussion.  Try to isolate key concept words or key phrases to use when searching the online catalog and electronic databases.

Read Magazines, including The Atlantic

Locating Scholarly Articles

This database features a box you can check to limit your search to scholarly/peer-reviewed articles.  You can include other EBSCOhost databases in your search by clicking on "Choose databases" and selecting them.

Scholarly Databases

These databases contain scholarly journals in a wide variety of subjects.

Researching Newspapers and Current Issues

NYTimes.com

Access to NYTimes.com provides:

Wall Street Journal

Librarian

Profile Photo
Elizabeth Parang
Contact:
Pepperdine University Libraries
24255 Pacific Coast Hwy
Malibu, CA 90263
310-506-4046

Wikipedia vs. Reference Books

Whether you are researching a topic that's new to you or just need a few quick facts, reliable information can be found in reference books.
Wikipedia is an encyclopedia written collaboratively; anyone with internet access can write and edit Wikipedia articles.  Users can contribute anonymously, under a pseudonym, or, if they choose to, with their real identity. 

Gale Virtual Referance Library (GVRL) and Oxford Reference Online are collections of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources; these trusted, authoritative reference works are available 24/7