It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MUS 200: Music Appreciation (L. Hanks): Find Articles
Access the journal archives Arts & Sciences I, II, & III, and over 40,000 ebooks on the JSTOR platform; book chapters and journal articles are cross-searchable. JSTOR is an extensive archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering subject disciplines in Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 600+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
Provides full text coverage of over 2,050 journals, including nearly 1,500 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage back to 1985.
Search for relevant scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
RefWorks (New Version)
Note: Access to RefWorks concluded at the end of January 2022. For help choosing a new citation manager and migrating your references from RefWorks to your new system of choice, please visit this guide.
Provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.6 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
Readers' Guide Retrospective, produced by The H. W. Wilson Company, is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Current coverage for this database includes the years 1890 through 1982.
A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present, Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.
A one stop shop for users to open access journals about music. An "open access journal" does not charge readers or their institutions for access, giving users full rights to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the journal's articles.
Musical America provides: In-depth coverage of performing arts industry news; special reports into the key issues and solutions driving the performing arts industry; extensive databases with critical information covering the international landscape of performing artists, facilities, managers, presenters, schools, media, services and organizations; blogs from industry experts exploring the crucial questions faced by businesses and performers; latest changes to managers’ rosters; and news directly from industry groups and organizations through our Press Releases section.
Selected Online Magazines
BBC Music Magazine
World's best-selling classical music magazine featuring articles, CD reviews, news, competitions and concerts.
Online version of this popular music and entertainment magazine, featuring an extensive array of searchable, playable charts, breaking music news, artist interviews and exclusives, news, video and more.
A daily updated source for classical music concert and recordings reviews.
British publication with claim to being the world's authority on classical music since 1923.
An online fanzine devoted to opera and classical music.
This is the online version of Playbill Arts, covering classical, opera, jazz and dance news, amongst others. It is usually pretty quick on picking up news stories, and includes feature - length articles as well. It also has a section of listings by art form/genre.
Rolling Stone Magazine
The website has similar content to the magazine (rock/pop/politics), but the online version has more editorial content and more up-to-date news.