If you cannot locate adequate information in Pepperdine Libraries or through InterLibrary Loan, you may wish to visit the Getty Research Institute Library at 1200 Getty Center Drive, Los Angeles 90049. However, you will need to plan ahead and contact the library in advance. Read through the information on "Visiting the Research Library". Submit the Research Library Request Form
Hockney, David. Flowers Sent as a Gift. 1995, Oil on canvas. Exhibited at André Emmerich Gallery, Spring 1996. Image and original data provided by Larry Qualls. ARTstor.
Find images for your presentation or paper in the database, ARTstor. Log on to ARTstor, create a personal account and create an image group. Then view information on how to Export to Power Point
You can search ARTstor by the name of an art work, by geography, by classification (for example, architecture), or by collection (for example, Beyond the Taj). Use the Advanced Search to limit by date.
Helpful videos on using ARTstor can be found on YouTube
For background information, start with an exhaustive reference work such as Grove Art Online. The online edition is updated regularly. A print copy (The dictionary of art) is available in the Starr Collection: Starr N 31 .D5 1996
Bibliographies located in books or at the end of journal articles can be very helpful. To learn if Pepperdine has access to a particular journal, search for the name of the journal in the library catalog, or use the 'E-journals' search feature on the Library's Web site.
Full-text current and archival articles from scholarly journals covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Online books can be found through a search of the library catalog; limit your search result to Format: Book: ebook
Many ebooks can be read by multiple people at the same times
You can search the full-text of books in collections of e-books such as:
Includes e-books formerly in Pepperdine's ebrary and EBL collections.This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Other collections containing some books on art and art history topics:
Foundational books in the humanities and social sciences, selected by scholars.
Key Writers on Art: from Antiquity to the Nineteenth Century by Citation Style Guides:
Explore. Discover. Create.
24255 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu, CA 90263 Phone: 310.506.7273Copyright © 2022 Pepperdine University
