Guides: ENG 380 Science in Literature (John Struloeff): Home

Literature Specific Databases

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and around the world.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Coverage is international and includes literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
In addition, the MLA Directory of Periodicals and their proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors within the Bibliography are included.

Multidisciplinary Databases

JSTOR
Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals, 40,000 books, and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text current and archival articles from scholarly journals covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Access to encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Ebook on science and literature

You can find books on this topic by searching su:science in literature.

A search of su:Frankenstine limited to ebooks will find numerous results such as this one:

Frankenstein, or, The modern Prometheus : annotated for scientists, engineers, and creators of all kinds by Mary Shelley; with contributions by others
ISBN: 9780262340267
Publication Date: 2017-04-28
The original 1818 text of Mary Shelley's classic novel, with annotations and essays highlighting its scientific, ethical, and cautionary aspects. The dramatic tale of Victor Frankenstein and his stitched-together creature can be read as the ultimate parable of scientific hubris. Victor, "the modern Prometheus," tried to do what he perhaps should have left to Nature: create life. Although the novel is most often discussed in literary-historical terms--as a seminal example of romanticism or as a groundbreaking early work of science fiction--Mary Shelley was keenly aware of contemporary scientific developments and incorporated them into her story.

Online Reference Books

Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of World Literature by Anne Marie Hacht; Dwayne D. Hayes
Call Number: Online in Gale Virtual Reference Library
ISBN: 1414431384
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
Covers world authors from many periods and genres, building an understanding of the various contexts -- from the biographical to the literary to the historical -- in which literature can be viewed.
Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of American Literature
Call Number: Online in Gale Virtual Reference Library
ISBN: 9781414431307
Publication Date: 2009-07-03
Covers American authors from many periods and genres
Contemporary Novelists
Call Number: Online in Gale Virtual Reference Library
ISBN: 9781558624085
Publication Date: 2000-10-10
The 7th edition of Contemporary Novelists includes biographies, bibliographies and critical essays on a wide range of contemporary writers.

Why Google Scholar?

Question: Why would you use Google Scholar?

Answer: Google Scholar identifies scholarly research materials from a broad range of subject areas.

Google Scholar offers a "cited by" feature - it will display a list of documents which cited the document you originally retrieved. This can be useful in determing how influential a source has been. The list only includes documents available in Google Scholar, though.

Go into the preferences of Google Scholar and select Pepperdine University from Library Links.