Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

Music History in Special Collections: Additional Resources

Additional Resources

Here are a number of additional resources available through Pepperdine University Libraries. This list was compiled by Pepperdine Library's Music Liaison, Cory Aitchison: 

 

Music InfoGuide by Cory Aitchison 

- This InfoGuide was created by Pepperdine Library's Music Liaison, Cory Aitchison and provides an excellent range of resources pertaining to music. Cory regularly updates the "Music in the News" section in the "Getting Started" tab to keep our users informed of what's going on in the world of music. 

 

Online Music Collections 

Pepperdine Libraries also has a vast collection of online sheet music. Here are some below.

IMSLP: International Music Score Library Project: The Petrucci Music Library is a virtual library containing all public domain musical scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge.

Classical Music Library: Access to streaming music consisting of 47,839 albums, equalling over 712,700 classical music recordings. Includes the Music Library Association listing of essential sound recordings, recordings of music written from the earliest times (e.g., Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Includes program notes, composer biographies, and images cross-referenced to the recordings plus links to Grove Music Online.

Open Music Library: Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers, and librarians, the Open Music Library brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books, and music scores from the world’s digital collections.

Mozart Digital Edition: Operated by the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum in cooperation with the Packard Humanities Institute, the Digital Mozart Edition offers the musical text and the critical commentary of the entire Neue Mozart-Ausgabe.

 

Streaming Content 

Medici.tv: Medici.tv is described as “the leading educational video resource in classical music, opera, and dance.” The site broadcasts more than 100 live events each year, from venues and festivals such as Carnegie Hall, Bolshoi Theater, Opéra national de Paris, NCPA, Glyndebourne Festival, Lucerne Festival, Verbier Festival, Salzburg Festival, International Tchaikovsky Competition, International Chopin Piano Competition, Plácido Domingo’s Operalia Competition, and more.

Digital Theatre Plus: Digital Theatre Plus brings live performance into the classroom, accompanied by a range of educational resources for illustration, explanation, and critical reflection. Includes several theatre resources, including over 200 productions, 18 master classes, 27 documentaries, 260 interviews and 62 practical guides.

Naxos Music Library: Access to over 1.45 million tracks of music from the Naxos and other independent music labels; includes background information such as complete linear notes.

 

Other Must-Know Resources 

Grove Music Online: Access to more than 60,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world. Includes the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002), as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations.

Oxford History of Western Music Online: Offers an account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin. The full text, which was printed in five thick volumes in print, is now available in an interactive digital format.

IPA Source: Library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts, containing over 11,000 texts including 1311 opera-aria texts.