It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARTH 251 Art in the City (Los Angeles): Home
Library resources to aid your study of art in context
The largest art museum in the western United States, with a collection that includes over 120,000 objects dating from antiquity to the present, encompassing the geographic world and nearly the entire history of art.
The gallery’s exhibitions, educational and public programs aim to inspire conversation about contemporary issues. Located in Barnsdall Art Park where you will also find Frank Lloyd Wright's Hollyhock House.
Art in the City introduces students to the visual arts within the context of a given setting. Through this course, students will gain a deeper understanding of the art that they are exposed to while studying and living in one of our Pepperdine campuses worldwide. Students will learn to analyze paintings, drawings, sculpture, and architecture that they encounter in visits to museums, architectural monuments, art galleries, and on walking tours.
These online sources are good places to locate scholarly journal articles. You can also locate magazine articles, including reviews of exhibitions.
Featuring full-text articles (from more than 300 journals), indexing and abstracting of an international array of publications, Art Full Text™ is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more.
Full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995
High-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals
Indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations
Indexing of nearly 200,000 art reproductions
Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
Some Examples of Books located via the Library Catalog
Los Angeles in recent years has received international media attention as one of the world's new art centers. Schrank places this celebrated arrival in the richer context of art controversies and political contests over modern art and art spaces in the twentieth century.
Spontaneous, in-your-face and unauthorised, the work of street artists and graffiti writers demands our attention. Wildly creative and often subversive, street art shows that just because a work isn't in a gallery doesn't mean itOCOs not art. From Sao Paolo to Sydney, New York to Tokyo, these artists exhibit their work in the world's most accessible museum - the street - sharing their vision with a public unable to avoid their work, like it or not.
This book offers detailed analyses of individual East LA murals, sets them in social context, and explains how they were produced. The authors, leading experts on mural art, use a distinctive methodology, analyzing the art from aesthetic, political, and cultural perspectives to show how murals and graffiti reflected and influenced the Chicano civil rights movement.
Conceived as a challenge to long-standing conventional wisdom, Creating the Future is a work of social history/cultural criticism that examines the premise that the progress of art in Los Angeles ceased during the 1970s and didn't resume until sometime around 1984. However, this is far from the reality of the L.A. art scene in the 1970s. Fallon's narrative describes and celebrates, through twelve thematically arranged chapters, the wide range of intriguing artists and the world--not just the objects--they created. Coming into being right before their eyes was an ardent local feminist art movement, which had lasting influence on the direction of art across the nation; an emerging Chicano Art movement, spreading Chicano murals across Los Angeles and to other major cities; a new and more modern vision for the role and look of public art; a slow consolidation of local street sensibilities, car fetishism, gang and punk aesthetics into the earliest version of what would later become the "Lowbrow" art movement.
Discover LA's hidden streets, architectural masterpieces, Hollywood romance, lost canyons, and diverse culture. Each self-guided tour includes a detailed map, original photograph, and public transportation information. On every urban trek, you'll soak up the LA vibe, from quirky art to world-class museums to of-the-moment shops and restaurants.
Use the library catalog to locate e-book city guides that will include information on museums and outstanding architecture
Over 80 Los Angeles art galleries have joined together to create an online platform to promote engagement with the local and international art audience. Each week GALLERYPLATFORM.LA will present up to 11 gallery “viewing rooms” and 1 curated project.
Founded in 1902, ARTnews is the oldest and most widely circulated art magazine in the world. ARTnews (available on Flipster) reports on the art, personalities, issues, trends and events shaping the international art world. Recent news:
Larry Bell, American, 1939-. 1961. Untitled. Place: Norton Simon Museum of Art at Pasadena, Gift of Mr. and Mrs. Paul Kantor. https://library.artstor.org/asset/AWSS35953_35953_41381509.
You can search ARTstor by the name of an art work, by geography, by classification (for example, architecture), or by collection (for example, Art History Survey Collection). Use the Advanced Search to limit by date.