Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

ENG 101 (Stephanie Donnelly): Home

Researching Pepperdine

When researching Pepperdine, the Boone Special Collections and Archives is the place to start. Contact the Archivist, Kelsey Knox (Kelsey.Knox@pepperdine.edu or 1-310-506-4323), explain your topic and set up an appointment.

You may also find helpful information in the student newspaper, The Graphic. 

Older issues of The Graphic may be found in Special Collections or on microfilm (a microfilm reader is located in ACE)

Search the library catalog for Pepperdine University history to find both archival materials and books, including Crest of a Golden Wave: Pepperdine University 1937-1987 (available as an ebook) , The Malibu Miracle: a memoi , by William Banowsky, fourth president of Pepperdine  (LD4561.P428 B36 2010), and Quest for Distinction, by W. David Baird, sixth president of Pepperdine (LD4561.P428 B35 2016).

Background Information

Whether you are researching a topic that's new to you or just need a few quick facts, reliable information can be found in reference books.

Researching Newspapers and Current Issues

News on Higher Education

Locating Articles

This database features a box you can check to limit your search to scholarly/peer-reviewed articles.  You can Choose Databases to add additional EBSCOhost databases, such as Education Full-Text, ERIC, Music Index,  or SPORTDiscus, and simultaneouly search them.

Researching Current and Controversial Issues

When you see something of interest, note the terminology that is used in the discussion.  Try to isolate key concept words or key phrases to use when searching the online catalog and electronic databases.

Search Pepperdine's eBook Collections

Multidisciplinary Scholarly Databases

These databases contain scholarly journals and ebooks in a wide variety of subjects.

Get Help in the Writing Center

NYTimes.com

Pepperdine University Libraries provide full complimentary access to NYTimes.com, New York Times mobile apps, and New York Times in Education to Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

Access to NYTimes.com provides:

Librarian

Elizabeth Parang's picture
Elizabeth Parang
Contact:
Pepperdine University Libraries
24255 Pacific Coast Hwy
Malibu, CA 90263
310-506-4046