It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIST 405- Global Environmental History: Home
Resources for use in HIST 405, including links to relevant archival collections, digital collections, and other research tools.
Relevant Archival and Book Collections at Pepperdine
This collection consists of materials relating to the Malibu Yacht Club and the Malibu Surfing Outrigger, a sailboat designed by club member Warren Seaman. It includes blueprints, plans, articles, manuals, photographs, and record books about the Malibu Outrigger, as well as ephemera and directories for the Malibu Yacht Club.
The Historic Surfboard Collection includes over thirty surfboards from the personal collection of John Mazza, surfing aficionado and local Malibu resident. The boards, on permanent loan to Pepperdine University, represent the evolution of surfing and surfboard technology in the twentieth century with examples ranging from the 1910s to the 1980s.
The Malibu Natural Disasters Collection is comprised of photographs of natural disasters that occurred at Pepperdine University and the surrounding area of Malibu. These events include several fires as well as an earthquake, storms, and flooding. The collection also includes photographs of benefits for these disasters.
Photographs and negatives from the Malibu Times ranging in date from 1946 to 2010. There is also a file called Canyon and Country Times which includes photographs that were published within the short-lived newspaper by the same name, throughout the early 1990s. The papers were both owned by Arnold and Karen York.
Files regarding the planning and construction of the Pepperdine University campus in Malibu, between 1968 and 1999. Materials consist of master plan files, maps, correspondence, architectural plans, drawings, and photographs associated with the construction of campus buildings and landscaped areas.
Correspondence, business papers, financial records, photographs, newspaper clippings, and ephemera from the various family members of the Rindge and Adamson families of Malibu, California and spans from 1891 to 1967.
The Eric Wienberg Collection of Malibu Matchbooks, Postcards, and Ephemera chronicles the history of business establishments and sites in Malibu and the surrounding area. The collection covers a period between the late 19th century and the 1980s, and features matchbook covers, postcards, publications, and ephemera from restaurants, cafes, bars, hotels, motels, stores, and other businesses from Malibu, Topanga, Pacific Palisades, Santa Monica, Culver City, Venice Beach and Catalina Island. The collection also includes publicity photographs, photojournalistic images, and candid snapshots from life in Malibu and Southern California.
ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California. This link will direct you specifically to the collections held here at Pepperdine.
This database allows you to view a list of collection titles and brief descriptions within particular collecting areas and by collection types. This tool is best used for browsing and discovery. To search the contents of these collections, please follow the "more" link at the end of each collection description.
The Malibu Times is the longest running newspaper in Malibu, California. The newspaper covers the region of Malibu, and includes sections on the community, Malibu life, news, sports, opinion, obituaries, and entertainment. This fully searchable digital collection currently covers 1946 to 1970.
Pepperdine Digital Collections facilitates the discovery of and access to a wide variety of digital materials related to Pepperdine University's history, scholarly output, and unique archival holdings, such as our Malibu Historical Collection.
Founded in 1952, Trancas Riders and Ropers is an all-volunteer equestrian club and one of Malibu's oldest community organizations. Trancas Riders and Ropers (T.R.R.) provides equestrian activities for youth, local families, and underprivileged riders, ranging from education, horse shows, and community events to financial assistance for those in need. This collection compiles photographs, news clippings, audiovisual recordings, and other materials to tell the T.R.R story.
Archivist for Boone Special Collections and Archives