Guides: MUS 354/MUS 355: Music History and Literature: Find Articles

Music Databases

Music Index This link opens in a new window
Music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present.

Open Access Music Journals
A one stop shop for users to open access journals about music, providing links to full-text sites.
more...less...
A one stop shop for users to open access journals about music. An "open access journal" does not charge readers or their institutions for access, giving users full rights to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of the journal's articles.
Musical America: Worldwide
A performing arts directory and news source.
more...less...
Musical America provides: In-depth coverage of performing arts industry news; special reports into the key issues and solutions driving the performing arts industry; extensive databases with critical information covering the international landscape of performing artists, facilities, managers, presenters, schools, media, services and organizations; blogs from industry experts exploring the crucial questions faced by businesses and performers; latest changes to managers’ rosters; and news directly from industry groups and organizations through our Press Releases section.

BBC Music Magazine
World's best-selling classical music magazine featuring articles, CD reviews, news, competitions and concerts.
Billboard
Online version of this popular music and entertainment magazine, featuring an extensive array of searchable, playable charts, breaking music news, artist interviews and exclusives, news, video and more.
ClassicsToday
A daily updated source for classical music concert and recordings reviews.
Gramophone Magazine
British publication with claim to being the world's authority on classical music since 1923.
FanFaire
An online fanzine devoted to opera and classical music.
Playbill Arts
This is the online version of Playbill Arts, covering classical, opera, jazz and dance news, amongst others. It is usually pretty quick on picking up news stories, and includes feature - length articles as well. It also has a section of listings by art form/genre.
Rolling Stone Magazine
The website has similar content to the magazine (rock/pop/politics), but the online version has more editorial content and more up-to-date news.
Other classical music magazines
World-newspapers.com's list of classical music magazines with online content.
Other general music magazines
World-newspapers.com's list of general music magazines with online content.

In addition to the Pepperdine Library catalog, these online sources are good places to start your music-related research.

JSTOR
Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text current and archival articles from scholarly journals covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.

Academic Search Complete
Provides full text coverage of over 2,050 journals, including nearly 1,500 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage back to 1985.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Access to literature and resources covering education topic from pre-K through graduate school, sponsored by the US Department of Education.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject coverage includes adult education, special education, multicultural/ethnic education, and teaching methods.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Coverage is international and includes literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
In addition, the MLA Directory of Periodicals and their proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors within the Bibliography are included.

Readers' Guide Retrospective
Readers' Guide Retrospective, produced by The H. W. Wilson Company, is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Current coverage for this database includes the years 1890 through 1982.