It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ART 390 Junior Interdisciplinary Studio: Research, Practice, Methods (Batcheller): Home
Library resources for researching art topics
Richard Tuttle, American, Rahway, New Jersey, 1941. 2000. Ten, A. sculpture. Place: San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Accessions Committee Fund purchase. https://library.artstor.org/asset/ASFMOMAIG_10312704734.
Find images for your presentation or paper in the database, ARTstor. Log on to ARTstor, create a personal account and create an image group. Then view information on how to Export to Power Point. Use the Advanced Search to search ARTstor by the name of an art work or artist, by geography, by classification (for example, Drawings and watercolors), or by collection (for example, Beyond the Taj).
Helpful videos on using ARTstor can be found on YouTube
Featuring full-text articles (from more than 300 journals), indexing and abstracting of an international array of publications, Art Full Text™ is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more.
Full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995
High-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals
Indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations
Indexing of nearly 200,000 art reproductions
Access the journal archives Arts & Sciences I, II, & III, IV, and over 40,000 ebooks on the JSTOR platform; book chapters and journal articles are cross-searchable. JSTOR is an extensive archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering subject disciplines in Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.
Useful Online Sources
Artsy, a resource for collection and education, aims to make all the world’s art accessible to anyone with an Internet connection.
Artnet.com, a site that collects information about works from over 180,000 artists
e-flux,a publishing platform and archive, artist project, curatorial platform, and enterprise; includes e-flux journal, a monthly art publication featuring essays and contributions by some of the most engaged artists and thinkers working today.
Locate books by general call number. Remember there are three collections of books in Payson Library: Main Collection, Oversize, and the Starr Collection (this collection must be used in the library)
BH - Aesthetics
DT 56.8-DT 63.5 Ancient Egyptian art (also N 5350)
E 59.A7 - Pre-Columbian art
E 98 - Native American art
N - Visual Art
NA - Architecture
NC - Drawing, Design, Illustration
ND - Painting
NE - Print media
NK - Decorative arts
NX - Arts in general
You can search the catalog by the phrase drawing or sketching to find books on technique and then filter by checking ebook to find online books. You can also find books on many well-known artists by searching their names and filtering by ebook. Or, you can search directly in collections of online books such as these:
The Virtual Library includes titles published by the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, and the Getty Research Institute.The publications span the Getty’s publishing history, and include collection catalogues that highlight masterpieces from Getty collections, translations of texts on the visual arts, essential works of art historical research, exhibition catalogues, journals, and publications that serve as key resources in the conservation of the world’s cultural heritage.
A virtual library of art history texts, digitized art history publications, rare books, and related literature, the Getty Research Portal offers more than 100,000 volumes available from more than 20 international partners.
An e-magazine celebrating fine art & design: "ARTES regularly presents in-depth articles and opinion on artwork in all its forms: painting, sculpture, art installations and photography...[plus] reports on recent and upcoming museum and art gallery exhibitions in classical art, modern art, contemporary art, abstract art and art for sale through auction events and international art dealers and art collections."
ARTnews (available on Flipster) reports on the art, personalities, issues, trends and events shaping the international art world.
The hardest part of creating a portfolio can be to take good pictures of your work. This site has some tips about shooting your work and then goes over some Photoshop methods of cleaning up the images.
Documenting Your Work - Emerging Artist Guide Images of your work are what get people interested in what you are doing. Because of this, documenting your work properly is one of the most important investments you can make as an artist and entrepreneur.
Sometimes the biggest favor you can do for yourself is get a professional to look over your portfolio and tell you what they think. National Portfolio Day exists for this exact purpose--you can meet with representatives from colleges (there are days for undergraduate and graduate students in art and architecture).
A Word to the Wise
The format, size, and style of your portfolio will probably depend greatly on where you're planning to submit it. Don't send the same CD-ROM to every place you apply whether it's an art school or a gallery. Even art schools all have different requirements for portfolios, so do your homework beforehand.