Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access the journal archives Arts & Sciences I, II, & III, IV, and over 40,000 ebooks on the JSTOR platform; book chapters and journal articles are cross-searchable. JSTOR is an extensive archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering subject disciplines in Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.
Latin American Newspapers: Series I This link opens in a new window
Latin American Newspapers provides more than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere. Latin American Newspapers offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues, and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922.
Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to scarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries are owned by Harvard's Widener Library. These pamphlets are valuable primary resources for students and researchers working on Latin American history. They document the emergence of the Latin American colonies as independent states.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 145,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Includes e-books that were formerly in Pepperdine's ebrary and EBL collections.This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Spanish Conquest Books from the Library
Books of the Brave by
Call Number: Payson Library MAIN STACKS Z490 .L46 1992 (Click on Link for EBook)
Publication Date: 1992-01-01
Since its original publication in 1949, Irving A. Leonard's pioneering Books of the Brave has endured as the classic account of the introduction of literary culture to Spain's New World. Leonard's study documents the works of fiction that accompanied and followed the conquistadores to the Americas and goes on to argue that popular texts influenced these men and shaped the way they thought and wrote about their New World experiences.
Daily Life of the Aztecs by
Call Number: Payson Library MAIN STACKS F1219 S723 2002
Publication Date: 2002-05-01
A vivid account of the fierce, honourable, death-obsessed, profoundly religious Aztecs on the eve of the Spanish conquest. Even in the darkest symbolism of their blood-drenched worship they appear as people with whom we can sympathise.
The Armature of Conquest by
Call Number: Payson Library MAIN STACKS PQ7081 .P3413 1992
Publication Date: 1992-08-01
Focusing on certain key firsthand narratives of the discovery, exploration, and conquest of the New World, the author views various journals, letters, and other documents not merely as narratives of facts and events but as literary expressions of the dynamics of the writer's experience.
Victors and Vanquished by
Call Number: CALABASAS FACILITY F1230 .V53 2000
Publication Date: 1999-12-29
How did a small band of Spanish conquistadors overthrow a mighty Aztec empire in 16th century Mexico? Using excerpts primarily drawn from Bernal Diaz's 1632 account of the Spanish victory and testimonies - many recently uncovered - of indigenous Nahua survivors gathered by Bernardino de Sahagun, Victors and Vanquished demonstrates how personal interests, class and ethnic biases, and political considerations can influence interpretation of events. A substantial introduction is followed by nine chronological sections that illuminate the major events and personalities in this historical episode, and reveal the changing attitudes toward European expansionism.