Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Learning about your topic
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Access to encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Titles can be searched alone, by subject, or all titles can be searched together.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It indexes over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. Pepperdine has direct access to selected journal articles and online books.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for relevant scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting for over 2,500 scientific, technical and medical journals as well as access to 503 full-text Elsevier journals, and titles subscribed to by Pepperdine University Libraries, through the SCELC consortium, plus 45 titles in the Psychology backfile.
Nature This link opens in a new window
An international weekly journal of science, Nature publishes the peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. Nature also provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation to all readers who have an interest in science.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
If you receive an error message, click on "BioOne Complete" and it will take you to the main home page of the database, then you can begin searching.
National Academies Press This link opens in a new window
Access to free PDFs of books in the physical and social sciences (also accessible by subject) published since 1980. Includes full-text searching capabilities. Introduces the National Academies Press, created by the National Academy of Sciences to publish the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, 2d. ed. This link opens in a new window
A completely revised and updated version of the original work published in Germany in 1960, this edition incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community. (17 volumes)
Here is where you can find resources such as dictionaries and encyclopedias. Most of these titles are ebooks, but a few are print. If you want to consult a print resource, email me and I can send you scanned pages of the entries you need.
Natural History Museum
London House is walking distance from Natural History Museum on Cromwell Road and admission is FREE.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) formerly netLibrary This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks from EBSCOhost.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online journals and BOOKS covering life, health, physical sciences, etc.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Includes e-books that were formerly in Pepperdine's ebrary and EBL collections.This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
How To Search the Pepperdine Catalog for eBooks:
This is a non-profit website that allows you to look up sea creatures by common name and scientific name.
This is a non-profit website that contains information on amphibians.
You found something you don't have access too but NEED...
If there is an article or book chapter you want that we don't have access to ask the library assistant in your campus library to show you how to request materials using Inter-Library Loan system.
- You can have articles emailed to you
- While you can't request books; you can have book chapters emailed to you
Citing Your Sources
Citing your sources is extremely important! Here are two guides created by Purdue OWL to help you cite sources in both MLA and APA styles.