Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

MSCO 220 Introduction to Integrated Marketing Communication (Dr. Fischbach): Marketing Databases

these will help you find resources for you assignment

Topics

Parkinson Foundation Moving Day Event

FinMango

Family Promise Sacramento

CASA of Ventura County; non-profit organization (Court Appointed Special Advocates)

Electric California (Eyewear and Apparel company)

Articles and Dissertations

Search the word "covid" to view articles on the impact of the pandemic on nonprofit organizations.

Example: I want articles on the impact of Covid on nonprofit organizations.

  • Click the box for Select All and then click continue
  • Type covid into the first box
  • Type nonprofit or charitable into the second box and click search

Example: I need articles on social media and nonprofits.

  • Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue so all of.the databases can be searched simultaneously
  • Type nonprofit or charitable into the first box 
  • Type social media or facebook or twitter or social networks or youtube and click search
  • Go to Publication Date on the left-hand side and set the range from 2014 to 2020

Example: I want articles on events for nonprofit organizations.

  • Click the box for "Select All" and then click Continue so all of.the databases can be searched simultaneously
  • Type nonprofit or charitable into the first box and use the pull-down menu to change the field from Select a Field to SU Subject 
  • Type events into the second box
  • Click search
  • Go to Publication Date on the left-hand side and set the range from 2014 to 2020
  • Click the box for scholarly (peer reviewed journals) to limit your results to scholarly articles

Example: I need articles on financial literacy and poverty.

  • Click the box for Select All and then click continue
  • Type financial literacy into the first box and use the pull-down menu to change the field from Select a Field to SU Subject 
  • Type equality or income or poverty or poor into the second box (the word "or" is a search command)
  • Go to Publication date on the left-hand to limit results to newer articles (e.g, 2015-2020)
  • Click the box for scholarly (peer reviewed journals) to limit your results to scholarly articles

Example: I need articles on advocacy for abused children.

  • Click the box for Select All and then click continue
  • Type abused children or child abuse (the word "or" is a search command)
  • Type court* into the second box (the asterisk gives variations of root words such as courts or courtrooms, etc)
  • Type advocate or advocacy into the third box
  • Click search
  • Go to Publication date on the left-hand to limit results to newer articles (e.g, 2015-2020)
  • Click the box for scholarly (peer reviewed journals) to limit your results to scholarly articles

Example: I need articles on nonprofit organizations and the homeless.

  • Click the box for Select All and then click continue
  • Type homeless or homelessness into the first box
  • Type charitable or nonprofit into the second box click search
  • Go to Publication date on the left-hand to limit results to newer articles (e.g, 2015-2020)
  • Click the box for scholarly (peer reviewed journals) to limit your results to scholarly articles

Example: I want dissertations on social media and nonprofits.

  • Type charities or nonprofit into the first search box and change Anywhere to Anywhere except full-text-NOFT with the pull-down menu
  • Type social media or twitter or facebook or youtube or instagram into the second box and and change Anywhere to Anywhere except full-text-NOFT with the pull-down menu
  • Click search
  • On the left-hand side, set the date range from 2014-2020

Example: I want dissertations on nonprofit events.

  • Type charities or nonprofit into the first search box and change Anywhere to Anywhere except full-text-NOFT with the pull-down menu
  • Type events into the second box and and change Anywhere to Anywhere except full-text-NOFT with the pull-down menu
  • Click search
  • On the left-hand side, set the date range from 2014-2020
  • Titles like "A Quantitative Descriptive Case Study on the Alzheimer's Nonprofit Marketing Methods" are relevant

Example: I want dissertations on nonprofits serving the homeless.

  • Type charities or nonprofit into the first search box and change Anywhere to Anywhere except full-text-NOFT with the pull-down menu
  • Type homeless OR homelessness into the second box and and change Anywhere to Anywhere except full-text-NOFT with the pull-down menu
  • Click search
  • On the left-hand side, set the date range from 2012-2020
  • Titles like "Addressing Kern County's Latino Immigrant Homelessness Crisis"

Example: I want a dissertation on financial literacy programs for low-income individuals.

  • Type financial literacy into the first search box and change Anywhere to Anywhere except full-text-NOFT with the pull-down menu
  • Type poverty or poor or low-income or underserved into the second box and and change Anywhere to Anywhere except full-text-NOFT with the pull-down menu
  • Click search
  • On the left-hand side, set the date range from 2014-2020
  • Reports such as Financial Decision Making of Individuals in Underserved Communities are relevant

Good resource for newspapers and magazine articles.

Industry Information

Example: I want statistics on nonprofit organizations

  • Type nonprofit into the box and click search
  • Select the report "Nonprofit organizations in the U.S." (Dossier)

Example: I want statistics on the eyewear market.

  • Type eyewear into the box and click search
  • Select the report titled "Eyewear in the U.S." (Statista Dossier)

Example: I want statistics on homelessness.

  • Type homelessness into the search box
  • Select the report "Homelessness in the U.S" dossier

Example: I need statistics on financial literacy.

  • Type financial literacy into the box and click search

Example: I want statistics on child abuse.

  • Type child abuse into the box and click search
  • Select "Child abuse in the U.S." (Dossier)

IBIS World will assist you with the following aspects of your Marketing Plan:

  • Situation/Market Analysis
  • Competitor Analysis
  • Distribution
  • Financial Evaluation

IBISWorld is a great resource for industry report on specific industries such as convenience stores, daycare, or custom screen printing.

Example: I am looking for information about resources for homeless individuals.

  • Type homeless and select the "Community Housing & Homeless Shelters in the US."

Example: I want industry data on eyeglasses.

  • Type glasses in the box and select reports like "Glasses & Contact Lens Manufacturing in the US" or "Online Eyeglasses & Contact Lens Sales"

Passport will assist you with the following aspects of your Marketing Plan:

  • Situation/Market Analysis
  • Competitor Analysis (detailed market share)
  • Foreign Entry Potential
  • Distribution

Example: I want a report on eyeglasses.

  • Access the report "Eyewear in the US"

Example: I need age breakdowns for Instagram users.

  • Type instagram age into the box and click search
  • Click the link for "Instagram US"

Example: I want data on Covid and social media usage.

  • Search covid social media into the box and click search

Financial data about Nonprofit Organizations

Financial Data for Private Companies

Example: I need financial data on the company Electric.

  • Create an account using your Pepperdine email address
  • Search for the parent company of Volcom (Electric)
  • Click the tab for Financials to obtain some estimated revenue data

Search Pepperdine's eBook Collections

Pepperdine has several ebooks on nonprofit topics such as:

  • Events
  • Social media
  • Marketing

Demographic Information

MIntel will assist you with the following aspects of your Marketing Plan:

  • Consumer Segmentation & Targeting
  • Competitor Analysis
  • Distribution
  • Pricing
  • *Mintel is a great resource for Psychographics*

Example: I want demographic information about people who donate to charities.

  • Consult the report titled Attitudes toward Charities and Non-profits - US - October 2016
  • Be sure to consult the Databook that provides detailed demographic breakdowns for every survey question.

Example: I want a report relevant to eyeglasses.

  • The report "Eyeglasses and Contact Lenses - US - October 2017"

Example: I want a report on reaching Generation Z.

  • Reports like "Marketing to Gen Z: Incl Impact of COVID-19 - US - May 2020." Similar reports are available such as "Marketing to Millennials: Incl Impact of COVID-19 - US - June 2020"

Simmons OneView will assist you with the following aspects of your marketing plan:

  • Consumer demographics
  • Identify the best places to advertise

GFK MRI University Reporter will assist you with the following aspects of your marketing plan:

  • Consumer demographics
  • Identify the best places to advertise

After creating an account:

  • Click the link for "University Reporter"
  • Select Spring 2019 Reporter

Keywords:

  • charitable (for demographic data on people who donate money to charities, belong to charities or volunteer.
  • eyeglasses

Competitor Analysis

Example: I need tutoring services within ten miles of the 90263 zip code.

  • Click the link for U.S businesses
  • Click Advanced Search
  • On the left-hand side of the screen, click the boxes for Keyword/SIC/NAICS and Radius
  • Type tutoring into keyword box and click Search
  • Click "829909 Tutoring"
  • Scroll down to Radius
  • Type 90263 into the ZIP code field
  • Type 10 in the "Number of Miles" box
  • Please note: *this source only provides physical locations that compete with your firm and will not list online competitors.*