This course will be a focused survey of world cinemas: an exploration of the aesthetic, historical, and theoretical/critical aspects of major national cinemas around the world with an emphasis on the unique soci-cultural context and national identity.
"Considered the most important work of literary history and criticism ever published, the Cambridge History contains over 303 chapters and 11,000 pages, with essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing." Arranged chronologically, and includes an index to the chapters in each volume, as well as an index to the bibliographies in each chapter.
Free full-text access to thousands of electronic books on a wide variety of topics. Includes books in English as well as many different foreign languages.
The Black Film Archive celebrates the rich, abundant history of Black cinema. We are an evolving archive dedicated to making historically and culturally significant films made from 1915 to 1979 about Black people accessible through a streaming guide with cultural context.
A database of hundreds of downloadable scripts, movie scripts, screenplays, and transcripts of current, classic and maybe a few soon-to-be-released movies, television, anime, unproduced and radio shows.
American feature and short films from 1893-1970, compiled by the American Film Institute. Includes information on cast, crew, plot summaries, subjects, genres and historical notes.
Peer reviewed journal that publishes critical, historical, and theoretical essays, book reviews, and interviews in the area of moving image studies including film, video, and digital imagery studies.Our scope is international and interdisciplinary.
