ThomsonOne Research provides investment reports from prominent banks such as Credit Suisse and Morgan Stanley. These reports provide in-depth analysis and forecasts for publicly-traded companies. **This database requires Internet Explorer 11 or Microsoft Edge running compatibility mode. Go to the Tools menu (the gear icon), select “Compatibility View settings”, and then add thomsonone.com** This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Example: I need an EIU country report for Brazil.
Please Note: Pepperdine's subscription only provides access to the "top 50" countries (according to the EIU evaluation of the countries with the best business opportunities.
Click "Research" at the top of the screen and then select Company Research
Click the link for Advanced Research
Scroll down to the box for "Analyst" and type in EIU and then select ECONOMIST INTELLIGENCE UNIT COUNTRY REPORTS TOP 50
Type Brazil into the geography box and then select BRAZIL
Click the link for the report. A new window will open up. Click the box for Select All Reports and click view to create a PDF report
Access to the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,200 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier includes full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Updated daily
Example: I need a country report for Australia.
Type Australia into the first search box and change Select a Field to GE Geographic Terms
Scroll down to Publication Type and select "Country Report"
Go to Publication Date on the left-hand side and limit the date from 2018-2019
The Country Monitor reports will provide Risk ratings and SWOT analyses
Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and makes it available on four platforms: German, English, French and Spanish. Pepperdine's subscription includes access to the expert tools and the Global Consumer Survey .
Example: I need information on the cost of living in Seoul.
Type Seoul cost of living into the search box and click search
Try other keywords such as rent, real estate, income, food costs, etc.
Provides access to the Dow Jones and Reuters news wires, The Wall Street Journal, Barrons and over 8,000 other sources with the ability to cross search Web sites, publications, newswires, company reports and pictures in a single search. For guidance on building a Factiva search, please visit this guide.
Example: I need information on Russia's business regulations such as taxes, building permits, acquisition of real estate, etc.
Click Search at the top of the screen and click Search Builder
Type real estate into the search box at the top
Select "in the last 5 years" for the date
Scroll down to Source, type EIU country commerce and select the term
Scroll down to Region, type in Russia and select the term
Select articles such as "Organising an investment: Acquisition of real estate"
Also, try searching for information on currency and derivatives
From Euromonitor International, Passport GMID provides business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries and offers detailed analysis of consumer and industrial markets around the world across 781 cities, 210 countries, and 27 industries with historic data from 1997 and forecasts through 2020. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Example: I need a country report for Spain from a business perspective.
Type Spain business dynamics into the search box at the top
Select the report for Business Dynamics: Spain
Example: I want forecasted interest rate and exchange rates for New Zealand and several other countries.
At the top of the screen, click the link for Economies and select Economy, Finance and Trade
Go to the section for "Statistics" and select "Exchange and Interest Rates"
Click the arrow next to "Exchange and Interest rates"
Select the specific data that you need and click "Next"
Select the countries that you need and click "Search"
Scroll down to "ECONOMIES AND CONSUMERS ANNUAL DATA" and click "View Full Data Set"
Use the pull down menu to select the forecasted years that you need and click "Apply"
Download the data you need into Excel (Select current datasets)