PSY 690 Community/Clinical Research & Service (Cantwell)

PsycINFO contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in over 25 languages.

Why use PsycINFO - comprehensiveness!

To use Advanced Search with Guided-Style Fields:

1. Click the Advanced Search link below the Find field.

2. Enter your search terms in the first Find field on the Advanced Search screen.

3. Choose the search field from the optional Select a Field drop-down list (for example, search in only the Subject Terms field of the citation).

4. Repeat steps 1 and 2 for the second set of Find fields.

5. Select a Boolean operator (AND, OR, NOT) to combine the two Find field entries.

6. You can enter another Boolean operator, keyword, and search field in the third set of fields.

7. If you need additional rows, click the Add Row link. Up to 12 rows can be displayed. To delete a row, click the Remove Row link.

8. Select from the available Search Options:

Search modes - Use specific search modes, such as "Find all of my search terms," or "SmartText Searching," or use search options that expand your search such as "Apply related words."

Limit your results - such as Full Text or Publication type.

Special Limiters - Apply limiters specific to a database. If you select a special limiter, it is applied only to the database under which it appears

9. Click the Search button. The Result List displays. The search field is displayed above the Result List. Your search terms, limiters and expanders are retained. To revise your search, you can apply the limiters under Refine your results. Click the Show More link to view all available limiters and expanders.

Click on the article title in blue to link out to the full article if available.  If the full-text is not available, click on "Find @Link Manager," leading to another database or a publishers website, for example.  Click on "Illiad" to request the article through interlibrary loan.