It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BA 497: Business Policy, Strategy, and Ethics (Jean-Denis): Competitive Maps for Smaller Companies, Brands & Subsidiaries
these will help you find resources for you assignment
Provides full-text coverage of approximately 15,000 national and regional newspapers, broadcast transcripts, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations and SEC filings such as 10-K's and 10-Q's. It provides access to company profiles, industry and market research information and trade journals. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff. For an overview of how to use Nexis Uni, visit this page.
Example: I want more information on DJO Global. I want to know if the company is publicly-traded. The company makes orthopedic devices.
Go to Search By Content Type and select Company Dossier
Type DJO Global into the Company Name box
Select DJO Global, Inc (DJO) from the list of companies
The profile indicates that DJO Global is publicly-traded subsidiary
View the description to confirm that the company produces orthopedic devices
Sometimes it's difficult to determine if the name you have refers to a brand or the company name. Also, the company might be a subsidiary of a larger corporation. In addition, many smaller companies are privately-held and you won't be able to locate balance sheets, income statements and cash flow statements.
You can determine if you are dealing with a brand or company and the legal status of the company by doing searches on Google, LexisNexis Academic and Reference USA.
Example: I have the name DonJoy and I want to know if this is a brand or a company name.
Search the term donjoy into Google and Search
You are taken to a page for DJO Global
Click the link for Corporate Info (wording will vary and some companies will have a section "About the Company" or "About Us"
On the corporate info page it explains that the company's name is DJO Global and that DonJoy is one of many brands sold by DJO Global
An online directory of 24 million+ businesses in the United States and Canada. Users can search by company name, ticker symbol, executive name, geographic location, sales range, type of business and number of employees.
Example: I suspect the company Recofit is really small and I want to locate an estimate of their annual sales. You weren't able to locate any information in the LexisNexis database.
Type recofit into the Company Name box and click Search
Click the link for Recofit
Scroll down and click Industry Profile to see if they industry looks relevant
Click the link for Busines Demographics to obtain an estimate of the company's sales and number of employees
Click the link for Management Directory. You see that Susan Walton is an executive of the company. Since Ecofit's web page http://recofit.co/about-recofit/ mentions Suan Walton as the founder of the company, you can be confident that you have located the correct company in Reference USA