Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

HIST 204: RTTP Role Playing Games (Rivas): Primary Source Web Sites

these will help you find resources for you assignment

Primary Sources

This listing of web sites is not exhaustive and is only intended as a starting point.

American Memory

The Library of Congress provides free access to scanned images, motion pictures, manuscripts and sound recordings. Collections on topics such as Native Americans, African Americans, immigrants, religion and women are available.

Digital History

This web site provides primary sources for several different ethnic groups in the United States.

American History Online 

This is a directory of primary source collections.

Online Archive of California

This is a directory of primary source collections from museums and universities.

Open Collections Program: Immigration to the U.S.- 1789-1930

Harvard University has provided many scanned documents of the immigrant experience.

National Archives and Record Administration

Many government agency records and military archives will be available online.

African American Digital Initiatives

Howard University has an extensive list of primary source web sites on African American history.

American Journeys

Contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later.