Guides: PSYC 324 Adult Development and Aging: Getting Started

Journals

Psychology and Aging
The primary focus of the journal is on reports of novel empirical findings that inform theories related to the psychological science of aging and adult development.
International Journal of Aging and Human Development
The journal places emphasis upon psychological and social studies of aging and the aged.
Aging & Mental Health
The journal addresses the mental changes associated with normal and abnormal or pathological aging, as well as the psychological and psychiatric problems of the aging population.

Online Reference Books

APA Dictionary of Lifespan Developmental Psychology by American Psychological Association; Gary R. VandenBos; American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781433813733
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The basic lexicon of development across the lifespan is illuminated in thousands of entries and hundreds of cross-references representing four basic categories: theories (e.g., psychoanalytic, normative development, testing, learning, Piagetian stages); biosocial (e.g., heredity/genetics, physical/sexual maturation); cognitive (e.g., learning, memory, and neurology); and psychosocial (e.g., family, community, education, employment).
Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human Development by Deborah S. Carr
Call Number: Online in Gale Virtual Reference Library
ISBN: 0028661621
Publication Date: 2008-11-10
Examines three key life stages from a sociological perspective, exploring how enduring experiences, as well as transitions and events such as childcare, education, stress, marriage, career, addiction, friendship, parenthood, disease, spirituality, and retirement influence the individual's life course. The life stages examined are: Childhood and Adolescence; Adulthood; and Later Life.

Useful Books

The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Adulthood and Aging by Susan Krauss Whitbourne (Editor); Martin J, Sliwinski (Editor)
ISBN: 9781444347593
Publication Date: 2011-11-23
This collection draws on the most recent demographic data and combines classic research with cutting-edge approaches to provide an invaluable overview of the developmental psychology of the adult years.

Lifespan Development: A Psychological Perspective
This textbook introduces the idea of lifespan development from a psychological perspective.

Adult Development by Jan D. Sinnott
ISBN: 9780199892815
Publication Date: 2014-08-05
Relationships, especially close relationships, are among the most important aspects of life for most of us. This book applies the concept of complex postformal thought in order to explore how certain cognitive processes support individuals' close relationships such that those relationships grow stronger and richer over time.
Aging and Mental Health by Daniel L. Segal; Sara Honn Qualls; Michael A. Smyer
ISBN: 9781119133162
Publication Date: 2017-10-31
Fully updated and revised, this new edition provides a thorough introduction to aging and mental health. Like its predecessors, it uses case examples to introduce readers to the field of aging and mental health.
Understanding the Life Course: Sociological and Psychological Perspectives. by Lorraine Green
ISBN: 9780745697963
Publication Date: 2016-12-20
A comprehensive guide to the entire life course from an interdisciplinary perspective. Combining important insights from sociology and psychology, the book presents the concept's theoretical underpinnings in an accessible style, supported by real-life examples. lay viewpoints. This second edition updates key data and includes additional material on topics such as new technologies, changing markers of transitions to adulthood, active ageing, resilience and neuropsychology.
Developmental Theories Through the Life Cycle by Sonia G. Austrian (Editor)
ISBN: 9780231513012
Publication Date: 2008-02-18
Describes theories of normal human development advanced by such pioneers as Sigmund Freud, Anna Freud, Jean Piaget, Nancy Chodorow, Daniel Levinson, Erik Erikson, and Margaret Mahler. Beginning with infancy, toddlerhood, and preschool, each chapter examines corresponding ideologies concerning maturation and development in middle childhood, adolescence, adulthood, and old age, while acknowledging that no one theory can encompass all aspects of human development.
Effective Writing in Psychology: Papers, Posters,and Presentations by Agatha M. Beins; Bernard C. Beins
Call Number: Online in EBL
ISBN: 9780470672440
Publication Date: 2012-05-15
The second edition of Effective Writing in Psychology helps users produce crisp scientific communication, form concise unambiguous arguments, and render technical information clear and comprehensible. The new edition incorporates the latest guidelines contained within the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual. Features a sample manuscript showing common deviations from correct APA style and a version demonstrating appropriate use of APA style

Subject Guide

Elizabeth Parang

elizabeth.parang@pepperdine.edu

Contact:

Pepperdine University Libraries
24255 Pacific Coast Hwy
Malibu, CA 90263

310-506-4046

Subjects: African American Studies, American Studies, Art, Art History, Creative Writing, Education, Humanities, Music, Psychology, Theatre Arts

Online Books

American Psychological Association e-Books 2010-2015 This link opens in a new window
APA e-books 2010-2015 consists of electronic access to scholarly and professional book content published by the American Psychological Association during 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015. The books are available in full-text PDFs by individual chapter. Includes access to the APA Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology, APA Handbook of Personality and Social Psychology, APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology, and APA Addiction Syndrome Handbook [NOTE: To search only the APA Books, uncheck the box marked PsycTESTS]

EBL e-book library
Use the Advanced Search for best resutls. For information on using special features, go to http://infoguides.pepperdine.edu/EBL