Skip to Main Content
Japanese Art by Joan Stanley-Baker
Call Number: N7350 .S7 2000
Publication Date: 2000-04-17
The uniqueness of Japanese culture rests on the fact that, throughout its history, Japan has continually taken, adapted, and transformed diverse influences from Korea, China, the South Seas, Europe, and the Americas into distinct traditions of its own. Extensively revised, updated, and expanded since its first publication, this authoritative survey of the arts of Japan from the prehistoric period to the present brings together the results of the most recent research on the subject. Profusely illustrated with examples from all the arts--painting, calligraphy, the decorative arts, and architecture--and with a wide-ranging bibliography, this book is a concise overview
Japanese Art in Detail by John Reeve
Call Number: N7350 .R44 2005
Publication Date: 2006-11-30
Arranged thematically, the book includes chapters on nature and pleasure, landscape and beauty, all framed by the themes of serenity and turmoil, the two poles of Japanese culture ancient and modern. Highlighting--close up and in color--outstanding examples of design and craft in prints, paintings and screens, metalwork, ceramics, wood, stone, and lacquer, Japanese Art in Detail presents each image alongside enlarged details--details that otherwise might be virtually invisible to the naked eye--thus affording intriguing comparisons between seemingly unrelated pieces. Throughout, John Reeve provides cultural context while pointing out exceptional features. Though drawn from one extraordinary source--the British Museum--the specific objects pictured here are representative of many others in public and private collections worldwide, and offer a clear idea, both broad and particular, of what constitutes Japanese art. Most of these images, as well as many of those mentioned, are accessible electronically through the British Museum's online database, as are several tours linked to recent exhibits.
Japanese Art and Design by Greg Irvine
Call Number: NK1484.A1 J37 2016
Publication Date: 2015-11-17
The V&A has the UK s largest permanent display of Japanese art, housing objects made over 1500 years. Collecting Japanese objects from its founding in 1852, the Museum has played a significant role in bringing the art of Japan to the attention of designers, manufacturers and the British public. Ten chapters focus on subjects including religion and ritual; samurai military and aristocratic culture; the highly aestheticized tea ceremony, which has been a notable feature of Japanese culture from the Medieval period to the present day; Edo-period urban fashions including lacquer and fashionable dress; Ukiyo-e and the graphic arts (prints, illustrated books, paintings, screens and contemporary photography); exchanges with the West and participation in world exhibitions, right up to modern and contemporary crafts and product design, including high-tech design.
Art and Culture of Japan by Nelly Delay
Call Number: DS821 .D456 1999
Publication Date: 1999-09-01
This detailed survey examines how Japanese architecture, sculpture, scroll painting, drawing, printmaking and calligraphy reflects developments in religion and politics, from the advent of Zen to the opening of Japan to the West.
Art Through a Lifetime: the Mary Griggs Burke Collection. by Miyeko Murase; Soyoung Lee; David Ake Sensabaugh; Il Kim (As told to); Gratia Williams Nakahashi (As told to); Shi-Yee Liu (As told to); Stephanie Wada (As told to); Gratia Williams Nakahashi (As told to)
Call Number: Oversize N7262 .B87 2013
Publication Date: 2013-12-20
This two-volume publication represents the only comprehensive documentation of one of the finest private collections of Asian art in the world. More than 1,000 works of art are shown in exquisite color reproductions, along with a special reference section of illustrated and translated texts, signatures, and seals. Since the collection will be dispersed for public use, Art Through a Lifetime provides the only opportunity for scholars, students, and admirers of Asian art to enjoy it in its entirety. The first volume of this boxed set presents Japanese paintings, printed works, and calligraphy that date from the Nara period to the late 20th century. The second volume presents the remainder of the Japanese works - ceramics, lacquer, metalwork, sculpture, and textiles - along with an extensive array of Korean and Chinese works of art.
Art and Palace Politics in Early Modern Japan, 1580s-1680s by Elizabeth Lillehoj
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Magnificent art and architecture created for the emperor with the financial support of powerful warlords at the beginning of Japan's early modern era (1580s-1680s) testify to the continued cultural and ideological significance of the imperial family. Works created in this context are discussed in this groundbreaking study, with over 100 illustrations in color.
Google Book Search
Google Book Search This link opens in a new window
Search for books with content that contains a match for your search terms. If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given permission, you'll be able to see a preview or snippet of the book, and in some cases the entire text. "Buy this book" and "Borrow this book" links show where you can buy or borrow the book.
Exhibition Catalogs in the Library
Masterpieces of Japanese Art: Cincinnati Art Museum by Hou-Mei Sung; Masahiko Aizawa (Contribution by); Keiko Nakamachi (Contribution by)
Call Number: Oversize N7352 .C56 2014
Publication Date: 2014-12-16
This is the first complete study and reappraisal of the remarkable collection of Japanese art at the Cincinnati Art Museum. It features a wealth of artifacts, including paintings and ceramics, metal objects and weaponry, screens, masks, cloisonné enamel, lacquer ware, ivory carvings, kimonos, and dolls, the majority dating from the Edo period (1615-1868) to the end of the Meiji Period in 1912. In addition to an important introduction by Hou-mei Sung, curator of Asian art, there are contributions by two leading guest authors from Japan, professor Keiko Nakamachi and professor Masahiko Aizawa, who study the painted screens in the collection.
Bridge of Dreams by Miyeko Murase; Mary Griggs Burke; Metropolitan Museum of Art Staff
Call Number: Starr N7352 .M84 2000 (does not circulate)
Publication Date: 2000-04-01
The Mary Griggs Burke Collection of Japanese art is recognized as one of the most significant collections in private hands. This catalogue presents 168 of these masterpieces, dating from the protoliterate era (c.10000 BC) to the Edo period (1615-1868).
Twelve Centuries of Japanese Art from the Imperial Collections by Ann Yonemura; Moritoku Hirabayashi; Freer Gallery of Art Staff; Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, Smithsonian Institution Staff
Call Number: Oversize ND1457.J32 W377 1997
Publication Date: 1998-01-17
Showcasing a selection of seventy-six paintings and works of calligraphy dating from the 9th through the 20th century, this book looks at the influence of imperial taste on the development of Japanese art.
Edo, art in Japan 1615-1868 by Robert T. Singer
Call Number: Oversize N7353.5 .S565 1998
Publication Date: 1998-11-10
Catalog of an exhibition opening at the National Gallery of Art on Oct. 4, 1998. .Includes bibliographical references.
Remaking Tradition: modern art of Japan from the Tokyo National Museum by Hiroyuki Shimatani (Contribution by); Masato Matsushima (Contribution by); David Franklin; Masami Zeniya (Introduction by); Frederick E. Bidwell (Foreword by); Cleveland Museum of Art Staff (Other Primary Creator)
Call Number: Oversize N7354 .S55 2013
Publication Date: 2014-03-25
This catalogue presents over fifty works in different media--most notably sculpture, painting, and ceramics--assembled together for the first time to convey the impressive variety of Japanese art from the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Engaging essays by noted scholars explore the diverse sources of influence for Japanese artists around the turn of the 20th century, such as Western oil painting, Buddhist portraiture, European porcelain, traditional Japanese landscape and figure imagery, and Chinese painting.
Japanese Art after 1945: scream against the sky by Alexandra Munroe
Call Number: Starr N7355 .M87 1994 (does not circulate)
Publication Date: 1994-09-30
This is a catalogue of Japanese avante-garde art since 1945. It surveys some 200 works, including painting, sculpture, photography, performance, video, film and installation art, by more than 100 artists. Rebellious groups such as the Gutai, a 1950s experimental movement, are also represented.
Here are some examples of books you may find useful.
A history of Far Eastern art by Sherman E Lee; Naomi Noble Richard
Call Number: Oversize N7336 .L43 1994b
Publication Date: 1994
The art of East Asia by Gabriele Fahr-Becker; et al
Call Number: Oversize N7337 .F34 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Contents: China -- Calligraphy -- Jade -- Indonesia -- The Kingdom of the Khmer -- Textiles in southeast Asia -- Japan -- Korea.
Buddhist art and architecture by Robert E Fisher
Call Number: N8193.A4 F57 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Contents: The subject-matter of Buddhist art -- India and neighbouring regions -- China -- Korea and Japan -- South-East Asia.
A Companion to Asian Art and Architecture by Rebecca M. Brown (Editor); Deborah S. Hutton (Editor)
Call Number: Online in Wiley Online Library
Publication Date: 2011-05-24
A Companion to Asian Art and Architecture presents a collection of 26 original essays from top scholars in the field that explore and critically examine various aspects of Asian art and architectural history. Brings together top international scholars of Asian art and architecture Represents the current state of the field while highlighting the wide range of scholarly approaches to Asian Ar; Features work on Korea and Southeast Asia, two regions often overlooked in a field that is often defined as India-China-Japan Explores the influences on Asian art of global and colonial interactions and of the diasporic communities in the US and UK Showcases a wide range of topics including imperial commissions, ancient tombs, gardens, monastic spaces, performances, and pilgrimages.