It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ECNM Graziadio and SPP Economics Research: Finding Economic Data
This guide will provide data and scholarly resources for students studying and researching the field of economics.
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Other related and supporting budget publications are included, which may vary from year to year. Budget data is available as an Excel file for download.
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the US Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. The BLS has official US economic data from the Department of Labor as relates to unemployment, wages, consumer prices, and inflation.
The United States Census has holdings of the County and City Data Books covering the years 1997-98, 2000, 2006, 2007, and 2010. These books consist of several datasets that include economic, demographic, governmental, and electoral data. Choose the Data Books link from the list of documents.
Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. Appendix B contains historical tables (from 1959 or earlier) on aspects of income (national, personal, and corporate), production, prices, employment, investment, taxes and transfers, and money and finance.
The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis (FRED) provides a statistical information page with detailed, downloadable economic data, such as CPI, 10-year treasury rate, real GDP, and a financial stress index adjusted weekly.
Internal Revenue Service, Statistics of Income Division provides annual income, financial, and tax data based on individual returns, business returns (including corporations, partnerships, and sole proprietorship), and returns filed by tax-exempt organizations.
Includes banking statistics, census data, money and stock information, welfare facts, earnings, labor, income, US economic analysis, US exports, GDP, inflation and consumer spending, regional economic data, and economic trade.
Resources for Global Economic Data and Statistics (Free Resources)
EuroStat is the statistical office of the European Union. Its mission is to provide high quality statistics for Europe. EuroStat has a wide range of data points including those related to economics and finance, trade, business and industry, and population.
Created by Michigan State's Broad School of Business, globalEDGE Insights by Country provides statistical data for nearly every country around the world, including GDP, economic indicators, labor and employment, and trade.
The World Economic Outlook (WEO) database contains selected macroeconomic data series from the statistical appendix of the World Economic Outlook report, which presents the International Monetary Fund (IMF) staff's analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups and in many individual countries. The WEO is released in April and September/October each year.
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available. Presents economic statistics for 269 countries from the International Monetary Fund. Economic and financial data including interest rates, gross domestic product, exchange rates, international transactions, government accounts, international liquidity and international banking are available from 1948 to the present.
Organisation for Economic Co-Operation & Development (OECD) contains economic data for its 30 member states (among them North America and Western Europe) as well as information about the global economy.
United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTADstat site) compiles, validates and processes a wide range of data collected from national and international sources. Most of the time series cover long periods, with some dating back to 1948, for almost all economies of the world.
The DataBank from the World Bank provides free, open access to data about development in countries around the globe. The World Bank provides indicators for the following categories: economic policy and debt, education, environment, financial sector, health, infrastructure, labor and social protection, poverty, private sector and trade, and public sector. Time series data is available back to 1960 for some countries.
The WTO provides quantitative information in relation to economic and trade policy issues. Its data-bases and publications provide access to data on trade flows, tariffs, non-tariff measures (NTMs) and trade in value added.
Google Dataset Search
Google Dataset Search indexes almost 25 million of datasets. You can filter the results based on the types of dataset that you want (e.g., tables, images, text), or whether the dataset is available for free from the provider. Try it here:
Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. Pepperdine's subscription includes access to the expert tools and the Global Consumer Survey for 28 countries. Country Reports are available for 150 countries and focus on the general economy, consumers, technology, and politics. They allow regional comparisons than can be used for market research, risk assessment or for the strategy development, planning, and execution of business operations.
Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research holds the world's largest collection of computer-readable social science data. These data can be used for both research and instructional activities. First time users will be asked to create an ICPSR MyData account.
From Euromonitor International, Passport GMID provides business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries and offers detailed analysis of consumer and industrial markets around the world across 781 cities, 210 countries, and 27 industries with historic data from 1997 and forecasts through 2020. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Provides instant access to important databases in the fields of finance, accounting, banking, economics, management, marketing and public policy. Currently Pepperdine subscribes to COMPUSTAT, CRSP, and KLD. Access is limited to Pepperdine faculty, staff, and doctoral students. Users must apply for account access and be approved by the Pepperdine WRDS representative the first time they log in.
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community context. Data and services available free of charge.