Guides: ART 376 Explorations in Digital Photography: Home

Getting Started

Locate artists' works on the Internet using a search engine such as Google; or visit a site that collects information about works from over 180,000 artists: Artnet.com

Artsy, a resource for collection and education, aims to make all the world’s art accessible to anyone with an Internet connection.

Aperture (available on Flipster) covers the world of contemporary photography combining writing with inspiring photographic portfolios. Each issue examines one theme explored in two distinct sections: Words, focused on the best writing surrounding contemporary photography, and Pictures, featuring immersive portfolios and artist projects.

Books

Aesthetics in Digital Photography by Henri Maître
ISBN: 9781786307538

Publication Date: 2023-08-15

Automatically evaluating the aesthetic qualities of a photograph is a current challenge for artificial intelligence technologies, yet it is also an opportunity to open up new economic and social possibilities. Aesthetics in Digital Photography presents theories developed over the last 25 centuries by philosophers and art critics, who have sometimes been governed by the objectivity of perception, and other times, of course, by the subjectivity of human judgement.
Virtual Photography by Ali Shobeiri (Editor); Helen Westgeest (Editor)
ISBN: 9783839472033

Publication Date: 2024-09-25

While it has traditionally been seen as a means of documenting an external reality or expressing an internal feeling, photography is now capable of actualizing never-existed pasts and never-lived experiences. Thanks to the latest photographic technologies, we can now take photos in computer games, interpolate them in extended reality platforms, or synthesize them via artificial intelligence.
Light and Lens : photography in the digital age [3rd ed.] by Robert Hirsch
Call Number: Oversize TR267 .H57 2018

ISBN: 9781138213029

Publication Date: 2018-05-04

Covers the fundamental concepts of imagemaking, how to use digital technology to create compelling images, and how to output and preserve images in the digital world. Expanded coverage of smartphone/mobile photography Extended coverage of the careers section

Useful Subject Heading

Search for print and online books in the catalog by subject:

Online Software Tutorials

http://www.photoshoptutorials.ws/

http://www.photoshopstar.com/

http://prodesigntools.com/adobe-cs6-tutorials-free-videos-all-products.html

Exhibitions & Excursions

Culver City Galleries
Culver City has a strong concentration of great galleries including Suzanne Vielmetter, Honor Fraser, and Blum & Poe.
Bergamot Station
Bergamot Station is a unique and unparalleled collection of fine art galleries. Throughout the year Bergamot Station hosts vibrant community and cultural activities and facilitates educational, non-profit and charitable events.
Sally Mann: A Thousand Crossings
For more than forty years, Sally Mann (American, born in 1951) has made experimental and hauntingly beautiful photographs that explore the overarching themes of existence: family, desire, mortality, memory, and nature’s indifference to the human condition. Exhibition at The J. Paul Getty Museum,November 16, 2018–February 10, 2019
12 SUNSETS Exploring Ed Ruscha's Archive
In 1966, Ed Ruscha drove along the Sunset Strip in West Hollywood, Los Angeles. Using a motorized camera mounted on the back of a pickup truck, he methodically photographed all of the buildings on each side of the street. He assembled the photos in the artists' book Every Building on the Sunset Strip, which challenged how people thought about Los Angeles, art and photography.
West of Modernism: California Graphic Design 1975-1995
This exhibition is part of LACMA’s Graphic Design Initiative, an interdepartmental project spearheaded by the Decorative Arts and Design and the Prints and Drawings departments.
Pacific Standard Time LA/LA
A far-reaching and ambitious exploration of Latin American and Latino art in dialogue with Los Angeles. Led by the Getty, Pacific Standard Time: LA/LA is the latest collaborative effort from arts institutions across Southern California.
Photography in Argentina, 1850 - 2010: Contradiction and Continuity
Comprising three hundred works by sixty
artists, this exhibition examines crucial periods and aesthetic movements in which
photography had a critical role, producing—and, at times, dismantling—national
constructions, utopian visions, and avant-garde artistic trends.
In Focus Platinum Photographs
Admired for their velvety matte surface, wide tonal range, and neutral palette, platinum prints helped establish photography as a fine art. Introduced in 1873, the process was championed by prominent photographers until platinum’s use was restricted in World War I and manufacturers were forced to introduce alternatives. Originally scheduled for January 21–May 31, 2020, GETTY CENTER

Finding Articles

Academic Search Complete

Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.

JSTOR + ARTstor
Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, plus over 40,000 ebooks, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.

Project MUSE

Full-text current and archival articles from scholarly journals covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Biography in Context

Biographical information on more than 528,000 people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.