It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENG 451 Medieval British Literature (King Arthur: Origins and Derivatives): Other Resources
Resources of interest as you explore medieval British literature and the Arthurian legend
Access to over 59,100 articles on notable people who shaped British history worldwide, from the 4th century BC to the year 2012. In addition to outlining a person's activities, character, and significance, each article also includes dates and places of key events, information on parents and spouses, and places of residence. One in five articles is accompanied by an image of the person who is the subject of the article.
The Artstor Digital Library is an image database featuring an unparalleled range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. YouTube HAS A CHANNEL OF INSTRUCTIONAL VIDEOS.
Provides online access to the full text of literary reference works, including encyclopedias, thesauri, quotation collections, and language usage guides. Additional links provide access to poetry anthologies and selected works of fiction and non-fiction.
Cambridge History of English and American Literature
A comprehensive encyclopedia of English and American literature derived from individual print editions of The Cambridge History of English literature and The Cambridge History of American literature, published between 1907 and 1921. Several entries cover the Arthurian Legend. (Also search 'King Arthur')
The Camelot Project is designed to make available a database of Arthurian texts, images, bibliographies, and basic information. The project, begun in 1995, is sponsored by the University of Rochester and prepared in The Rossell Hope Robbins Library, located in Rush Rhees Library. The Camelot Project has been created by Alan Lupack, Director of the Robbins Library, and Barbara Tepa Lupack.
Patrick Taylor believes "Le Morte D'Arthur is the first true novel written in English...Sir Thomas Malory's story, originally written as 8 books, was first published by William Caxton as 21 books in the year 1485."
The goal of the TEAMS Middle English text series is to make available to teachers and students texts which occupy an important place in the literary and cultural canon but which have not been readily available in student editions. The editions maintain the linguistic integrity of the original works but within the parameters of modern reading conventions. The on-line texts provided here are meant for individual use only.
Offers a comprehensive analysis of lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500, based on the analysis of a collection of over three million citation slips, the largest collection of this kind available.
Use this website to view digitised copies of manuscripts and archives in the British Library’s collections, with descriptions of their contents. The content in the Digitised Manuscripts viewer is intended for viewing for research and study purposes.
During the late 12th century, the Arthurian legends first took their form in the imagination of French-speaking romancers. Foremost among these poets was the great Chrétien de Troyes, credited with incorporating into the Arthurian tradition the quest for the Holy Grail and the adulterous affair between Lancelot and Guinevere. This critical text explores the French roots of the legends and the source material of the individual characters, with special attention to the creative role played by de Troyes, whose contribution to the saga continues to shape and inform the modern imagination.