Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

Research and Evaluation Methods for Mental Health Professionals: Searching Dissertations Online

This research guide will point you toward online research resources and strategies available to you as scholars doing research at Pepperdine. Use this guide throughout the research process to help you have the best support for your research.

What is the Dissertations and Theses Database?

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the collection includes work by authors from more than 1,700 graduate schools and universities the world over, and covers every conceivable subject. 

Every major research university in the United States and Canada is represented in the database and there is also a decent and growing international coverage.

Log in to the Dissertations and Theses database

Use the "Dissertations and Theses" electronic database

On the Pepperdine Libraries website,

1. click on Access Databases and E-Journals.

2. click on either the letter "D" at the top of the page and scroll down to the Dissertationsand Theses link.

3. Click on the database entitled Dissertations & Theses

4. Enter your username and password to log in. 

Search by Topic

To locate dissertation citations/abstracts by topic, perform a keyword search using relevant terms such as "community colleges and administration" or "distance education" or "transformational and leadership"

Search by Author

Write the author's name in the search box, for example "Marks and Alison," select Author from the menu in the search box to the right.  If this is unsuccessful, eliminate the first name because it may be represented only by an initial. 

Search for Pepperdine Dissertations:

Write "Pepperdine" in the first search box, select University/Institution - SCH from the menu in the search box to the right.  Do not include the "" in your search.

 

Search by Methodology:

Write the name of the methodology for example: "delphi", or "case study", or "mixed methods", or "phenomenological" in the first search box.  Select "anywhere" or "abstract - AB" from the menu in the search box to the right.  Do not include the "" in your search.

 

Search by Chairperson:

Write the last name of the chairperson in the first box, for example Harrell or Foy.  select Advisor - ADV from the menu in the search box to the right.  It is best to avoid using first names...sometimes they will be represented only by an initial.  nstead, narrow your search by using the school name.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

         

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Hector Lujan's picture
Hector Lujan
Contact:
18111 Von Karman Ave, Irvine, CA 92612
(949) 223-2543