It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research and Evaluation Methods for Mental Health Professionals: Finding Articles
This research guide will point you toward online research resources and strategies available to you as scholars doing research at Pepperdine.
Use this guide throughout the research process to help you have the best support for your research.
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5® easier to use across all settings: • The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. • The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations. • The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. • Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders). • Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided. • Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
The Complete text of the DSM V in ENGLISH AND SPANISH is accessible via the PsychiatryOnline Database. PLEASE NOTE: THIS DATABASE DOES NOT WORK WELL WITH THE INTERNET EXPLORER BROWSER.
La Guía de consulta de los criterios diagnósticos del DSM-5® es una ayuda concisa y asequible para la referencia psiquiátrica fundamental, el DSM-5®. Incluye la clasificación diagnóstica completa revisada, así como todos los criterios diagnósticos del DSM-5® en un formato fácil de utilizar. Esta cómoda referencia proporciona un acceso rápido a la información esencial para emitir un diagnóstico. Diseñado como complemento del DSM-5®, esta cómoda guía ayudará a los profesionales de la salud mental a incorporar los criterios diagnósticos del DSM-5® en sus diagnósticos. El Manual diagnóstico y estadístico de los trastornos mentales es la máxima referencia autorizada para la práctica clínica en el campo de la salud mental. Los cambios estructurales y diagnósticos de la quinta edición son un material que todos los clínicos "deben conocer". La Guía de consulta de los criterios diagnósticos del DSM-5® condensa la información diagnóstica actualizada esencial de este manual para ofrecer a los clínicos un recurso inestimable para diagnosticar con eficacia los trastornos mentales, desde el de mayor prevalencia al menos frecuente.
From the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 178,000 articles from 103 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), and from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
The American Psychological Association’s (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3.4 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Portal featuring DSM-V-TR, the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world and The American Journal of Psychiatry plus a collection of psychiatric references and journals from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., self-assessment tools, and clinical & research news. All journals, with the exception of Psychiatric News, available in this database are peer reviewed.
Searches the current content of 49 major psychoanalytic journals and contains the full text of the eighteen premier psychoanalytic journals from 1920 to 2009 plus full text of the Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud, and 96 classic psychoanalytic books. New in 2013: streaming video
Provides access provides to a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. Covers the areas of psychology, education, business, and leadership.
First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 1 to the present. Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
These 356 videos range from approximately 20 minutes to over an hour; the average length is just under an hour. The content includes therapy sessions (actual, reenacted, or scripted), experts discussing therapeutic approaches and analyzing examples, and presentations in which noted therapists lecture about issues in the mental health field. The videos are accompanied by written transcripts, which scroll as the video plays and highlight the corresponding text; many include teaching guides. The videos included in this collection can be used freely for educational purposes.
Access to an index of worldwide literature on posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. It is produced by the National Center for PTSD and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
Coverage includes assessment, prevention, treatment, mental health services, and more. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on PTSD and other forms of traumatic stress and to offer both current and retrospective coverage. Coverage spans 1871 to the present; the database is updated monthly.