It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENG 370 World Literature (Heidelberg): Other Resources
A primary source is "first-hand" information, sources as close as
possible to the origin of the information or idea under study. Primary
sources are contrasted with secondary sources, works that provide
analysis, commentary, or criticism on the primary source. In literary
studies, primary sources are often creative works, including poems,
stories, novels, and so on. In historical studies, primary sources
include written works, recordings, or other source of information from
people who were participants or direct witnesses to the events in
question. Examples of commonly used primary sources include government
documents, memoirs, personal correspondence, oral histories, and
contemporary newspaper accounts.
Search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. The Gale News Vault provides an alternate format for searching.
The Illustrated London News was the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper. The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events - including news of war, disasters, royalty, social affairs, the arts and science. Containing over 260,000 full colour pages, fully searchable and browseable, the ILN Historical Archive 1842-2003 provides users with access to the entire run of this unique historical record.
**Access requires logging in with a NYTimes.com account. Register using your Pepperdine email address here. For more information, visit our InfoGuide. ** With NYTimes.com Passes, you have full access to the extensive breaking news, world news, and multimedia of The New York Times without needing your own subscription. Enjoy full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any device. Articles printed prior to 1980 are available by searching NYTimes.com.
Led by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS), the HEB project includes the full text of around 5,400 titles. It includes books that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students and are frequently cited in the literature. Approximately 300 books are added annually to the collection.
The OAPEN Foundation is a non-profit foundation dedicated to Open Access publishing of academic books. The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences. OAPEN screens publishers and requires publishers to describe their peer review procedures to maintain academic quality in its collection.