It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
An index of journal articles, books, and dissertations, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.5 million citations from more than 5,000 journals and series and 1,200 book publishers. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
In addition, The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the Bibliography are included.
Why Is Searching the MLA Bibliography Better Than Searching Google?
The MLA International Bibliography contains over 2.5 million records that pertain specifically to language and literature. Material from other disciplines, like biology or political science, is not included.
The Bibliography provides the most comprehensive listing of scholarly material in language, literature, culture, and folklore, including publications not available on the Web.
A professional indexing staff and scholars in relevant fields review books, essay collections, journals, bibliographies, and electronic publications to create the most accurate listing possible.
The materials covered come from reputable publishers in over one hundred countries.
Indexers use controlled vocabulary as subject headings, enabling more precise searches than user-chosen keywords would allow.
Each citation contains the information users need to create a bibliography as part of a research project.
Why Google Scholar?
Question: Why would you use Google Scholar?
Answer: Google Scholar identifies scholarly research materials from a broad range of subject areas.
Google Scholar offers a "cited by" feature - it will display a list of documents which cited the document you originally retrieved. This can be useful in determing how influential a source has been. The list only includes documents available in Google Scholar, though.
Go into the preferences of Google Scholar and select Pepperdine University from Library Links.
Useful General Databases
These online sources are useful for your literature-related research.
Used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 600+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
Call Number: Online in Gale Virtual Reference Library
Publication Date: 1997-09-26
Information about the historical background of over 300 often-studied literary works from around the world. Entries feature: a brief introduction to the work; discussion of the work's historical setting; an overview of the events of the time that the work was written; and the work in focus.
Call Number: Online in Gale Virtual Reference Library
Publication Date: 2002-11-20
Historical in scope, the "Reference Guide to World Literature includes biographical-bibliographical entries on nearly 500 writers and approximately 550 entries focusing on significant works of world literature. Covering writers from the ancient Greeks to 20th-century authors, each author entry provides a detailed overview of the writer's life and works. Work entries cover a particular piece of world literature in detail.
Provides biographical information on more than 528,000 people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. The database also provides full-text articles from over 350 magazines and newspapers and includes more than 27,000 images plus links to Web sites tied to the lives and works of the subjects.
Some 50,000 new and/or updated biographies are added each year, as well as daily status updates of existing subjects
Access to over 59,100 articles on notable people who shaped British history worldwide, from the 4th century BC to the year 2012. In addition to outlining a person's activities, character, and significance, each article also includes dates and places of key events, information on parents and spouses, and places of residence. One in five articles is accompanied by an image of the person who is the subject of the article.
This course examines selected texts in world literature (in this semester, European and Modern Western Literature) along with their historical, social, and philosophical backgrounds, from the Enlightenment through the 20th century. As a unifying thematic point, we will be considering the connection between the local and particular and the global or universal, asking how the chosen texts explore and interrogate the relationships between the self and the outer world of the family, society, church, and state, together with the various and sometimes conflicting obligations that arise from these relationships.