It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENG 380 The Literature of Exile and Displacement: Home
This course explores unstable and shifting identities in contemporary America.
FamilySearch is a nonprofit family history organization dedicated to connecting families across generations. Historically known as the Genealogical Society of Utah, which was founded in 1894, Family Search is dedicated to preserving the records of the family of mankind. Its purpose is simple—help people connect with their ancestors through easy access to historical records. FamilySearch is the largest genealogy organization in the world with 4+billion names from around the world.
The USGenWeb Project provides free genealogy websites for genealogical research in every county and every state of the United States. This Project is non-commercial and fully committed to free genealogy access for everyone. Organization is by county and state, and this website provides you with links to all the state genealogy websites which, in turn, provide gateways to the counties.
Access to an extensive archive of journals in 30 subject disciplines in the Arts and Sciences, including history and literature. Pepperdine subscribes to the Arts & Science I, II, III providing immediate access to full-text in those modules but other articles can quickly be obtained using InterLibrary Loan.
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
An index of journal articles, books, and dissertations, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.5 million citations from more than 5,000 journals and series and 1,200 book publishers. Coverage is international
In addition, The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the Bibliography are included.
Exile is a dominant theme of our times. It can be found in the forced migration of populations but also in the temporal, cultural, and physical alienation of the individual's experiences of the postmodern world. This course explores unstable and shifting identities in contemporary America. The carefully selected stories we will read address issues such as remembering and forgetting, trauma and nostalgia, time and space, social and sexual exclusion, and multiple others. The course is a multi-faceted literary exploration of exile and displacement — geographical, temporal, corporeal and/or performative — and will provide an important analysis of a significant and fascinating aspect of contemporary culture.