Skip to Main Content
Literature Resources Online
The Victorian Web
A large collection of online texts, criticism, and background resources on Victorian literature and culture, created by a professor at Brown University.
NINES: Nineteenth Century Studies Online
If you study 19th-century literature, check here! A peer-reviewed scholarly site bringing together a growing number of digital projects relating to nineteenth century literature.
Victorian Resources Online: An Annotated List of Scholarly Websites
This site has links to other online resources. It has a fairly comprehensive list with short descriptions of the resources. It is divided into sections such as bibliographies and guides, literature and the press, art and architecture, society and social issues; and education, medicine, theater, and religion.
Victoria Research Web
A guide to research resources written by Patrick Leary and dedicated to the scholarly study of nineteenth-century Britain, and to aiding researchers, teachers, and students in their investigations of any and all aspects of this fascinating period.
The Virginia Woolf Society of Great Britain
On this website you will find information about the Society and information about Virginia Woolf herself.
RLS Website (Robert Louis Stevenson)
Web resource dedicated to Robert Louis Stevenson, designed for all: academics, school children and everybody interested in learning about RLS
The Thomas Hardy Society
An educational Charity founded in 1968 with the intention of promoting public knowledge and understanding of the life and works of the Dorset poet and novelist
Victorian Women Writers Project This link opens in a new window
"Primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. VWWP contains scores of authors, both prolific and rare."
Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition This link opens in a new window
Collection of six full-text British 19th century newspapers and journals: Monthly repository of theology and general literature (1806-1837), Unitarian chronicle (1832-1833), Northern star (1838-1852), Leader (1850-1860), English Woman's Journal (1858-1864), Tomahawk (1867-1870), and Publisher's Circular (1880-1890), chosen for their emphasis upon social issues, political reform, and women's rights.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Includes e-books that were formerly in Pepperdine's ebrary and EBL collections.This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR now includes over 40,000 ebooks that can be searched simultaneously with journal articles. They are searched at the chapter level.
Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
Download free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
General Literature Web Resources
Cambridge History of English and American Literature
A comprehensive encyclopedia of English and American literature derived from individual print editions of The Cambridge History of English literature and The Cambridge History of American literature, published between 1907 and 1921. Vol. XIII Covers Victorian literature.
Available on Bartleby.com/223/