ENG 425 Medieval Literatures of Devotion and Dissent: Other Resources

The Internet Medieval Sourcebook is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted texts related to medieval and Byzantine history.

A collection of links to materials on medieval writings, including William Langland and Margery Kempe; the site is maintained by Anniina Jokinen

The Archive, a collaborative open-access project, enables instructors, students, and researchers to explore late medieval literary and manuscript culture through the many variations of Piers Plowman.

A digital library of resources for studying the cultural and social matrix of The Book of Margery Kempe. The project is supported by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities.

An international academic society devoted to the study of later medieval religious culture, especially in England.

The goal of the TEAMS Middle English text series is to make available to teachers and students texts which occupy an important place in the literary and cultural canon but which have not been readily available in student editions. The editions maintain the linguistic integrity of the original works but within the parameters of modern reading conventions. The on-line texts provided here are meant for individual use only.

Use this website to view digitised copies of manuscripts and archives in the British Library’s collections, with descriptions of their contents. The content in the Digitised Manuscripts viewer is intended for viewing for research and study purposes.

The Catholic Encyclopedia, as its name implies, proposes to give its readers full and authoritative information on the entire cycle of Catholic interests, action and doctrine.

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.

pages maintained by Jack Lynch of Rutgers

web site for humanities research

Free full-text access to thousands of electronic books on a wide variety of topics. Includes books in English as well as many different foreign languages.

The publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in culture. Includes poems, articles and biographical information on poets.

Provides online access to the full text of literary reference works, including encyclopedias, thesauri, quotation collections, and language usage guides. Additional links provide access to poetry anthologies and selected works of fiction and non-fiction.

Clear and concise definitions of the most troublesome literary terms, from abjection to zeugma