It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nutrition 210 (Kole): Finding E-books and Articles
This research guide will point you toward print/online research resources and strategies available to you for your Research Paper Assignment in Nutrition 210. Use this guide throughout the research process to help you have the best support
Even though Payson Library is physically closed, we can still loan out e-books! To get started searching for an ebook, click the link above that says "Search the Library Catalog", and that will take you to the main page. Type in your words you want to search for in the main box, and hit "Search". You will see all the books, both print and electronic. On the left side of the screen are options to narrow your search, called "filters". Under the filter "Format" are options to limit the search to articles, books, etc. Under "Books" is the subtype "Ebooks". Check the box by "Ebooks", and that will limit your search results to only ebooks. Ebooks that Pepperdine doesn't own can be requested just like a print book. For assistance or clarification, contact Erin McAllister at email@example.com.
The Pepperdine University Library subscribes to these general databases,
covering a broad range of topics. Try them when you want to expand your
search to a wide range of periodicals!
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
Created by the US National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus can be used to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. Get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition. Health professionals and consumers alike can depend on it for information that is authoritative and up-to-date.
Here are some suggested Databases. For a full list of Databases you can search the Databases A-Z List. Pepperdine Only
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Provides indexing and abstracting for over 2,500 scientific, technical and medical journals as well as access to 503 full-text Elsevier journals, and titles subscribed to by Pepperdine University Libraries, through the SCELC consortium, plus 45 titles in the Psychology backfile.
The American Psychological Association’s (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 5 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Access to comprehensive, bibliographic and full text coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines, including over 530 full text titles. This is a useful database for articles relating to sports, athletes, and nutrition.
Search for relevant scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.