Skip to Main Content
American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychopharmacology by Alan F. Schatzberg (Editor); Charles B. Nemeroff (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017-05-10
Updated to reflect the new DSM-5 classification, this revised Fifth Edition maintains the user-friendly structure of its predecessors while offering in-depth coverage of the latest research in pharmacological principles, classes of drugs, and psychiatric disorders. Introductory chapters provide a theoretical grounding in clinical applications. The bulk of the book is devoted to various classes of drugs. Finally, the section on psychopharmacological treatment addresses evidence-based principles of clinical care for the full spectrum of mental disorders and conditions as well as for specific populations and circumstances
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by American Psychiatric Association
Call Number: * Available as E-Book
Publication Date: 2022-03-18
DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. Stay current with these important updates in DSM-5-TR: Fully revised text for each disorder with updated sections on associated features, prevalence, development and course, risk and prognostic factors, culture, diagnostic markers, suicide, differential diagnosis, and more.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
The official source for APA Style. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. Includes a dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020 located in Payson Reference and Reserves
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Drug Information Portal
Drug Information Portal
Quick access to quality drug information. Maintained by the U.S. National Library of Medicine
Selected Online Journals
An international journal that covers the broad topic of elucidating mechanisms by which drugs affect behavior.
Journal of Psychopharmacology
A fully peer-reviewed, international journal that publishes original research and review articles on preclinical and clinical aspects of psychopharmacology. The journal provides an essential forum for researchers and practicing clinicians on the effects of drugs on animal and human behavior, and the mechanisms underlying these effects.
Therapeutic Advances in Psychopharmacology
Peer-reviewed articles, reviews, and scholarly comment on pioneering efforts and innovative studies across all areas of psychopharmacology.
Experimental and Clinical Psychopharmacology
Publishes advances in translational and interdisciplinary research on psychopharmacology and drug abuse. The scope of research in these areas continues to expand and to benefit from collaborations across a broad range of disciplines, including behavioral science, brain imaging, genetics, neuroendocrinology, neuroscience, and pharmacology.
International Journal of Neuropsychopharmacology
Serves as a major forum for the rapid publication and wide dissemination of high quality, influential research in neuropsychopharmacology in the basic and clinic domains.
Fundamentals of Psychopharmacology (3rd ed.) by Brian E. Leonard
Call Number: Wiley Online Library
Publication Date: 2003-11-07
Treatment with drugs is fundamental to modern therapy of psychiatric disorders. The number of disorders responsive to drug treatment is increasing, reflecting the extensive synthesis of novel compounds and the greater understanding of the aetiology of the disorders.
Handbook of Clinical Psychopharmacology for Therapists by John D. Preston; John H. O'Neal; Mary C. Talaga
Call Number: EBL Library
Publication Date: 2017-03-01
Organized by disorder and, within each disorder, by medication, this book is designed to familiarize clinicians and students with the basic terminology and models of pharmacokinetics. This fully revised and updated eighth edition provides essential information on new medications and treatment options and includes the latest research on side effects, contraindications, and efficacy of all major medications prescribed for mental health disorders. The book also features an important new chapter on the effects of withdrawing from psychopharmacological medications.
Neuropsychopharmacology and Therapeutics by Ivor Ebenezer
Publication Date: 2015-08-03
Neuropsychopharmacology is a relatively new subject area in the neurosciences. It is a field of study that describes the effects of drugs from the molecular to the behavioural level and requires integration and synthesis of knowledge from various disciplines including neuroanatomy, physiology, molecular biology, pharmacology and the behavioural sciences. The principal aims of this book are to provide students with a clear understanding of CNS disorders, and an appreciation of how basic and clinical research findings can be translated into therapeutics.
The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Addiction Psychopharmacology by James MacKillop; Harriet de Wit; James Mackillop
Publication Date: 2013-03-04
The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Addiction Psychopharmacology is an authoritative collection of the most current research approaches to the study of drug addiction. Provides students and scholars with the practical tools to do the best work possible in addiction psychopharmacology Features reviews on the empirical relevance of the research methods and the nuances of the methodologies used Topics covered include core methods for assessing drug effects, distal and proximal determinants of drug use, and insights from cognitive neuroscience Includes contributions from a diverse range of experts that reflect the multidisciplinary nature of the field
Plants and the Human Brain by David O. Kennedy
Call Number: EBL Library
Publication Date: 2014-02-07
We're all familiar with the idea that plant-derived chemicals can have an impact on the functioning of the human brain. This book sets out to describe not only how, in terms of pharmacology or psychopharmacology, but more importantly why plant- and fungus-derived chemicals have their effects on the human brain.
Cognitive Behavioral Psychopharmacology by Mark Muse
Publication Date: 2017-12-18
Outlines a comprehensive, evidence-based approach to coordinating psychopharmacological and psychotherapeutic treatments. There is a burgeoning movement in mental health to acknowledge the entire person's functioning across physical, psychological and social spheres, and to integrate medical as well as psychological and social interventions to address the entire spectrum of presenting problems. Each disorder-specific chapter is authored by a prescriber and psychotherapist team who consider all the evidence around treatments and combinations, providing outcome conclusions and concise tables of recommended front-line interventions.
Online Book Collections
EBL e-book library
Use the Advanced Search for best resutls. For information on using special features, go to http://infoguides.pepperdine.edu/EBL