It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PSYC 456 Body Image and Eating Disorders : Finding Articles
Library resources for your investigation of body image and eating disorders
The American Psychological Association’s (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3.4 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Access to over 300 titles (over 250 in full text) that focus on women and women's issues, including academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, booklets, and reports. Some archival material as far back as 1974.
Provides access to over 500 scholarly full-text journals, including 436 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for 829 journals. Full-text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more. In addition, this database includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry and the pre-clinical sciences and includes bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The file contains over 22 million citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts. More than 4,600 international clinical and research journals are indexed and abstracted.
Focuses on perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness. Provides full text for articles and often peer-reviewed reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters. Also includes hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990. An EBSCOhost database.
From the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 178,000 articles from 103 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), and from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. For an overview of how to use Nexis Uni, visit this page.
This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 40 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc.
Full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, and others
Provides access to the Dow Jones and Reuters news wires, The Wall Street Journal, Barrons and over 8,000 other sources with the ability to cross search Web sites, publications, newswires, company reports and pictures in a single search. For guidance on building a Factiva search, please visit this guide.