It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A primary source is "first-hand" information, sources as close as possible to the origin of the information or idea under study. Primary sources are contrasted with secondary sources, works that provide analysis, commentary, or criticism on the primary source. In literary studies, primary sources are often creative works, including plays, poems, stories, novels, and so on. In historical studies, primary sources include written works, recordings, or other source of information from people who were participants or direct witnesses to the events in question. Examples of commonly used primary sources include government documents, memoirs, personal correspondence, oral histories, and contemporary newspaper accounts.
High-quality digital texts from the Folger Shakespeare Library editions, completed in 2010 by editors Barbara Mowat and Paul Werstine plus sophisticated coding that works behind the scenes to make the plays easy to read, search, and index
It contains over 100,000 of the 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgraves's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). The Text Creation Partnership (TCP), is in the process of creating SGML coding for the full text of 25,000 EEBO works, so users can search the full ASCII text of the documents and view both the text and the correspondin original page images.
You can locate full-text plays by using the Advanced Search, limiting results to documents with full text (checkbox) and selecting 'play' as type of work. LitFinder provides access to over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. Includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more
Open Shakespeare combines literary criticism and the internet, to produce a completely free and open set of tools for appreciating the Bard. Currently you can use our website to read all of Shakespeare, including brief individual introductions to each play, perform rudimentary statistical analysis, compare texts side by side, search and annotate any of Shakespeare’s works and much more
Open Source Shakespeare attempts to be the best free Web site containing Shakespeare's complete works. It is intended for scholars, thespians, and Shakespeare lovers of every kind. OSS includes the 1864 Globe Edition of the complete works, which was the definitive single-volume Shakespeare edition for over a half-century.
The 1914 Oxford edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare ranks among the most authoritative published this century. The 37 plays, 154 sonnets and miscellaneous verse constitute the literary cornerstone of Western civilization. Edited by W.J. Craig