Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Boyd-Barrett, O. (2006). Communications media, globalization and empire. Eastleigh, UK; Bloomington, IN: John Libbey; distributed in North America by Indiana University Press. An international team of experts analyze and critique the political economy of media communications worldwide in the 21st century. Payson Library P96 .I53 C66 2006.
- Johnston, D.H. (2003). Encyclopedia of international media and communication. San Diego, Calif.: Academic Press. The Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications explores the ways that editorial content -- from journalism and scholarship to films and and infomericals -- is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. The encyclopedia provides perspective and context about content, delivery systems, and their myriad relationships, as well as avenues for further research. Payson Library Reference P87.5 .E535 2003.
- Kaid, Lynda Lee. (2008). Encyclopedia of political communication. Los Angeles: Sage Publications. This resource considers political communication from a broad interdisciplinary perspective, encompassing the many different roles that communication plays in political processes in the United States and around the world.
Electronic Resources for Media Worldwide
World Press Encyclopedia: a survey of press systems worldwide This link opens in a new window
Access to a comprehensive survey of press and electronic media which covers nearly 200 countries. Entries include an overview of the background, economic framework and general characteristics of each country's press plus the number and type of media, press laws, censorship issues, state-press relations, news agencies, electronic news media, education and training in journalism.
International Encyclopedia of Communication Online This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative and up-to-date scholarship, spanning the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas. Topics range from extended explorations of major topics to short definitions of key terms and include subjects, people, periods, places, and key topics.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Access to the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,200 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier includes full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Updated daily
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to content from CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. CMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 620 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 820 titles.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of individual SAGE journals, including issues dating back to 1999. SAGE publishes journals in Business, Communication, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine and includes leading international peer-reviewed titles, including high-impact research journals published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies.
Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Access to article abstracts, books, bibliographic records, and other sources of relevance to researchers, scholars, and students interested in fields related to human communication studies (mass communication, human interaction, rhetoric, health communication, communication and new media, journalism, communication history, etc.). ComAbstracts is expanded and updated throughout the year.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Access to nearly 3 million searchable citations, the most comprehensive collection of doctoral dissertations and master's theses in the world. Dissertations from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts and Master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Full text for most dissertations since 1997 with 1.2 million full text dissertations available for download in PDF format. Approximately 70,000 new dissertations and theses are added each year. Coverage from 1743 to the present.