Skip to Main Content
Comprehensive Websites on American Literature
PAL: Perspectives in American Literature
Organized into ten chapters on the major literary and historical perspectives, cycles, or movements in American literature; each chapter has an Introduction, a Selected Bibliography, and a list of representative authors.
Created and maintained by Paul P. Reuben Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus, Department of English
California State University, Stanislaus
American Authors, Literary Movements, Sites, and Timeline
The purpose of all the American literature pages is to provide useful, interesting, advertising-free information on the subject and to provide links to the best information available for American literature from the earliest days through the 1920s.
Created and maintained by Donna Campbell, a tenured associate professor of English at Washington State University.
Literature Resources Online
Nineteenth-Century American Writers: Novelists, Poets, Story Writers, Essayists & Autobiographers
Literaryhistory.com is a free, public service reference site for online literary criticism maintained by Jan Pridmore, a Boston-based independent scholar.
NINES: Nineteenth Century Studies Online
If you study 19th-century literature, check here! A peer-reviewed scholarly site bringing together a growing number of digital projects relating to nineteenth century literature.
American Transcendentalism Web
Includes authors & texts, roots & influences, ideas & thoughts, and criticism
Ralph Waldo Emerson on the American Transcendentalism Web
Links to information on the life and career of Emerson, exhaustive lists of online versions of his writings, critical analysis of his writings, and more.
General Literature Web Resources
Literary Resources on the Net
pages maintained by Jack Lynch of Rutgers
Voice of the Shuttle
web site for humanities research
Free full-text access to thousands of electronic books on a wide variety of topics. Includes books in English as well as many different foreign languages.
Cambridge History of English and American Literature
"Considered the most important work of literary history and criticism ever published, the Cambridge History contains over 303 chapters and 11,000 pages, with essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing." Arranged chronologically, and includes an index to the chapters in each volume, as well as an index to the bibliographies in each chapter.
The publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in culture. Includes poems, articles and biographical information on poets.
Provides online access to the full text of literary reference works, including encyclopedias, thesauri, quotation collections, and language usage guides. Additional links provide access to poetry anthologies and selected works of fiction and non-fiction.