Guides: ENG 350 British Literature Survey: Other Resources

Online Databases containing British Literature

Digital Bodleian
Discover over a million images of rare books, manuscripts, and other treasures from the Bodleian Libraries and Oxford college libraries.
The Spectator Text Project
The Spectator Project is an interactive hypermedia environment for the study of The Tatler (1709-1711), The Spectator (1711-14), and the eighteenth-century periodical in general. Currently, the complete version of both journals are available online.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text items published in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700.
It contains over 100,000 of the 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgraves's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Collection of English or foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom from 1701-1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Eighteenth-Century Scholarship Online (18thConnect) This link opens in a new window
Information and links to the best primary and secondary texts in 18th century studies available in digital form, either freely on the Web or by subscription.
Victorian Women Writers Project This link opens in a new window
Access to poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century.
Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition This link opens in a new window
A free, online scholarly edition of six nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers, including Northern Star, the Leader, English Woman's Journal, and Tomahawk.

Individual Authors

Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Articles on notable people who shaped British history worldwide, from the 4th century BC to the year 2012.

The William Blake Archive
A hypermedia archive of the works of William Blake, sponsored by the Library of Congress and supported by the Carolina Digital Library and Archives at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
James Boswell .info
This site is an attempt to create an online environment for discussing and studying James Boswell and his contemporaries, includes an extensive biographical index of nearly all the people mentioned in his journals.
The Rossetti Archive
Facilitates the scholarly study of Dante Gabriel Rossetti, the painter, designer, writer, and translator. Edited by Jerome McGann of the University of Virginia.

General Literature Web Resources

Literary Resources on the Net
pages maintained by Jack Lynch of Rutgers

Literature Resources Online

Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
Folklore and mythology electronic texts. From University of Pittsburgh.
Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse
A collection of Middle English texts including Chaucer's Canterbury Tales & Troilus and Criseyde, Langland's Piers Plowman, Malory's Morte Darthur, Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Everyman, and many others.
more...less...
Assembled from works contributed by University of Michigan faculty and from texts provided by the Oxford Text Archive, as well as works created specifically for the Corpus by the Humanities Text Initiative
British Women Romantic Poets, 1789-1832
E-text editions of poetry by British and Irish women written (not necessarily published) between 1789 (the onset of the French Revolution) and 1832 (the passage of the Reform Act)
The Victorian Web
A large collection of online texts, criticism, and background resources on Victorian literature and culture, created by a professor at Brown University.
NINES: Nineteenth Century Studies Online
If you study 19th-century literature, check here! A peer-reviewed scholarly site bringing together a growing number of digital projects relating to nineteenth century literature.
CELT: The online resource for Irish history, literature and politics
CELT, the Corpus of Electronic Texts is Ireland's longest running Humanities Computing project. It brings the wealth of Irish literary and historical culture to you on the Internet, for the use and benefit of everyone worldwide. It has a searchable online textbase consisting of 13.7 million words, in over 1100 contemporary and historical documents from many areas, including literature and the other arts.
RPO: Representative Poetry Online
An online collection of British and American poetry from the Middle Ages to the present, from the University of Toronto.

Cambridge History of English and American Literature

A comprehensive encyclopedia of English and American literature derived from individual print editions of The Cambridge History of English literature and The Cambridge History of American literature, published between 1907 and 1921. The Cambridge History contains over 303 chapters and 11,000 pages. Essay topics range from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing. The set encompasses a wide selection of writing on orators, humorists, poets, newspaper columnists, religious leaders, economists, Native Americans, song writers, and even non-English writing, such as Yiddish and Creole.

Available on Bartleby.com

Why Google Scholar?

Question: Why would you use Google Scholar?

Answer: Google Scholar identifies scholarly research materials from a broad range of subject areas.

Google Scholar offers a "cited by" feature - it will display a list of documents which cited the document you originally retrieved. This can be useful in determing how influential a source has been. The list only includes documents available in Google Scholar, though.

Go into the preferences of Google Scholar and select Pepperdine University from Library Links.

Why Is Searching the MLA Bibliography Better Than Searching Google?

The MLA International Bibliography contains over 2.5 million records that pertain specifically to language and literature. Material from other disciplines, like biology or political science, is not included.
The Bibliography provides the most comprehensive listing of scholarly material in language, literature, culture, and folklore, including publications not available on the Web.
A professional indexing staff and scholars in relevant fields review books, essay collections, journals, bibliographies, and electronic publications to create the most accurate listing possible.
The materials covered come from reputable publishers in over one hundred countries.
Indexers use controlled vocabulary as subject headings, enabling more precise searches than user-chosen keywords would allow.
Each citation contains the information users need to create a bibliography as part of a research project.