It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENG 380 Anglo-American literature (International Programs): Other Resources
"Considered the most important work of literary history and criticism ever published, the Cambridge History contains over 303 chapters and 11,000 pages, with essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing." Arranged chronologically, and includes an index to the chapters in each volume, as well as an index to the bibliographies in each chapter.
Provides online access to the full text of literary reference works, including encyclopedias, thesauri, quotation collections, and language usage guides. Additional links provide access to poetry anthologies and selected works of fiction and non-fiction.
Organized into ten chapters on the major literary and historical perspectives, cycles, or movements in American literature; each chapter has an Introduction, a Selected Bibliography, and a list of representative authors.
The purpose of all the American literature pages is to provide useful, interesting, advertising-free information on the subject and to provide links to the best information available for American literature from the earliest days through the 1920s.
Provides access to scholarly literature from journals, dissertations and book and media reviews on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexing covers 1,800 journals from 1964 to the present and approximately 16,000 entries are added each year. Coverage for some titles back to the 19th and early 20th centuries
Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
The Hawthorne in Salem Website was created and is being maintained by North Shore Community College with grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Community College Humanities Association.
Harriet Beecher Stowe (1811-1896) published more than 30 books, but it was her best-selling anti-slavery novel Uncle Tom's Cabin which catapulted her to international celebrity and secured her place in history.
A website dedicated to one of the most important writers of the nineteenth-century United States and one of the leading personalities in New England Transcendentalism, offering easy access to the large collection of his works, biography, quotes, links to other resources, and more.